Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Melbourne, November 8, 2005

By Mal Sawford
Chris Beales rides solo
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The C Grade bunch
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

The first twilight race of the season saw riders battle a typically strong Sandown northerly wind, but the morning rain had well and truly cleared for the 6.30pm kick off. Just over 100 riders were on the start line ready for battle in one of the four grades on offer. The attacks came thick and fast in A Grade, with locally-based Queenslander David Kemp (Merida) doing the early damage. Others releasing their aggression included Justin Davis and Luke Pledger (both O'Mara Cycles), Jason Pastor and Danny Kah.

The move that stuck saw Davis and Pastor joined by Ross Mueller with around twenty minutes remaining. Kemp and Kah sailed across in the strong tailwind at three laps to go, with Matt Chessum powering up the hill to join the leading group shortly afterwards. The sprint came down to a battle between Mueller and Kemp, with the Brunswick rider kicking clear twenty metres from home, while Davis got the better of Chessum, and Pastor for the minor places. Leigh De Luca shot out of the bunch to pinch the final prize from the unlucky Kah.

Nick Gates (BikeNOW) attacked B Grade at every opportunity but wasn't given any distance from the attentive bunch. Visiting Canberra rider Antony Bishop suffered a mid race puncture but was able to borrow a wheel from Jack Dovaston's Neutral Service, and surged clear on the final lap to take the win, with Gates hot on his heels in second. A trio of Footscray riders filled the minor places, with Glen Hutchinson (Salter Cycles) winning the bunch kick from Tony Rebesco and Glen Wright (Giramondo). Chris Beales (Cycle Science) escaped the C Grade bunch midway through their race, and although never much more than ten seconds ahead, paced his efforts brilliantly to solo to an impressive win, with Ben Schofield leading the bunch home ahead of George Greenall and Echucha veteran Brian Dew.

Orgainsers tried something different for the women, with their prize money decided by a mid race Queen of the Mountain sprint at the crest of the long drag up the back straight late in the race. Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW) left her run late and was able to hold off Nikki Matthews, with Janine Donaldson third. First time riders dominated the D Grade results, with the bunch exploding on the final climb. Nathan Pearson sprinted to the first-up win, from the relatively experienced Todd Spain, and another new comer in Josh Mackley. Queen of the Mountains was Fiona Adler, after a ding dong tussle with Rebecca Hanning for the full length of the climb.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs every week until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour
1 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)               
2 David Kemp (Queensland)                
3 Justin Davis (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Matt Chessum (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Jason Pastor (Carnegie Caulfield)      
6 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)     
B Grade - 55 minutes
1 Antony Bishop (Canberra)               
2 Nick Gates (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)            
4 Tony Rebesco (Footscray)               
5 Glen Wright (Footscray)                
C Grade - 50 minutes
1 Chris Beales (Dirt Riders)             
2 Ben Schofield (Blackburn)              
3 George Greenall (Mornington)           
4 Brian Dew (Echuca)                     
1 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Nikki Matthews (Carnegie Caulfield)    
3 Janine Donaldson (Footscray)           
D Grade - 50 minutes
1 Nathan Pearson (Carnegie Caulfield)    
2 Todd Spain (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Josh Mackley (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Ross Black (Carnegie Caulfield)        
1 Fiona Adler (Mornington)               
2 Rebecca Hanning (St Kilda)             
3 Brooke Condon (Blackburn)              

Local results 2004