Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Australian Time Trial Association

Calga, NSW, November 6, 2005

Lemond over Fignon again

This month's ATTA had special meaning for the season's best two Time Trialists, Tom Brooks and David Rae. The November Time Trial was the final race for the Multisports series. With a Hed Disc as first prize and a pair of Rotary Cranks for second prize, the speed demons were saving no energy in this the final decider.

At the start of the season Tom Brooks was easily beating David Rae however, over the latter part of the season David had improved his times and had done enough to beat Tom on the last two occasions. Tom started the final 43km test with an almost unbeatable 1 minute and 14 seconds accumulated lead over David, but in a 43km TT anything can happen. David Rae started as number 60 on the starting list whilst Tom took number 61. This meant that he had the advantage of chasing down his nemesis who was just 1 minute up the road. From the start both riders gave it their all. Tom's tactic of starting behind David worked for him over the first 22km because at the turn-around Tom was a mere 40 seconds behind David. In effect, this meant that he was actually leading by 20 seconds.

Although it was a beautiful day there was a significant wind blowing from the south meaning that the riders return journey would be a difficult one. David had judged his effort well, pushing a huge gear all the way home. He was convinced he had done enough to take today's victory but he knew that taking out the series was an unrealistic target. As David crossed the line you could hear the synchronized beeps of the crowd starting their stopwatches aware that Tom had to defend a 1 minute and 14 second buffer of the series deficit. When Tom came into vision it was clear that David had won the stage, but the question remained as to who had won the series. Tom was in sight with 700m to go and 40 seconds to win the series.

As Tom approached the finish line the crowd waited with bated breath to see who would win the $1500+ 1st prize. The countdown was set and it was clear that David Rae had won the stage. Furthermore, as the countdown continued past the 1minute 14 second deadline, it became apparent that David Rae had done enough to win the major prize. The end result was that David Rae beat Tom Brooks by 8 seconds. Sound familiar? In 1989 Laurent Fignon had what was perceived as unattainable lead however in the final time trial Lemond took a staggering amount of time out of the yellow jersey. Thus the situation was repeated at Calga with David Rae taking a slim 8 second victory in the prestigious event.

Aside from the excitement in the major series, Tani Ruckle was taking on the women's 25km record for the fifth time. She had already achieved the 43km title and was hell bent on getting her name on the ATTA Trophy for the 25km course. On the 6th of November she finally achieved this feat, beating the previous best time by exactly 10 seconds and as such scoring herself a tidy $100.

In the 25km course it was a family affair with Robert Hodgison setting the fastest time of the day 35:12 However his father was hot on his heels with a time of 35:44 which in age standard blows Robert's time out of the water., Next months TT will be an absolute beauty, with the state 2 man Time trial to be decided, along with a host of other prizes. Can't wait.


43km course
1 Dave Rea           1.03.04
2 Tom Brook             1.22
3 Peter Coleman         4.28
4 Michael Mellish       5.19
5 Mark Stapleton        6.29
6 Darren Quarrell       7.03
7 Tim Prowse            7.18
8 Mark Person           9.06
9 John Horsburgh        9.37
10 Tony Johnson        12.33
11 Lisa Marangon       13.47
12 Chris James         14.51
13 Trevor Smith        16.55
14 Andrea MdcDonald    17.18
15 Susan Wilson        17.26
16 Greg Hanson         19.37
25km course 
1 Robert Hodgson       35.12
2 Ross Hodgson          0.32
3 Mark Arnold           2.33
4 Carl Holleman         3.16
5 Brett Stewart         3.41
6 Tani Ruckle           4.17
7 Michael Lynch         4.18
8 Ali Edwards           4.31
9 Brad Craft            4.33
10 Kym Pardey           4.47
11 Mike Popplewell      5.19
12 Richard Briscoe      5.39
13 Peter Court          6.13
14 Mike Axton           9.58
15 Josh Hinton         11.01
16 Jackson Pratt       11.39
17 Chris Chard         12.04
18 Jacyn Mellish       12.34
19 Nick Renowden       12.55
20 Rod Wagner          13.47
21 Michael Griffiths   16.25 

Local results 2004