Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Warragul Cycling Club

Warragul, Victoria, May 21, 2005

Visitors Climb the Wall

The Warragul Cycling Club raced the exciting Fishers Rd Circuit on Saturday; a circuit that contains a short but sharp climb known locally as 'the wall'. A small field of 5 started in A grade with two new riders from The St Kilda Cycling club welcomed by all. Andrew Robinson, and Ben Serpell immediately showed they would be a force to be reckoned with when they didn't flinch going up the infamous Fishers road wall the first time.

Locals Jason Kruger, Steve Twining, and Chris Beales worked hard to give the visitors a run for their money. Jason Kruger attacked up the Picnic Point Hill the second time and had Steve and Chris in considerable difficulty. It took 5km of hard chasing by Steve and Chris before the rejoined the others on Lardners Track. Jason again put the pressure on past picnic point and this time only Andrew Robinson was able to go with him. These two worked together for the remaining 12km of the lap. Andrew had too much top end speed for Jason and took out the race. Ben, Steve and Chris finished together a minute and 25 seconds down on the lead duo. Warragul Cycling club members enjoy having visitors from other clubs like StKilda; even when they beat us! The WCC has asked Cycle Sport Victoria to reconsider the recent decision to restrict access to club races as visitors will always be welcome at Warragul.

B-Grade raced three laps of the 13km Fishers Rd Circuit. The bunch stayed together almost the entire race. James Henry stretched his legs up the wall the 2nd time up and Paul Yeatman yo-yoed off the back of the bunch at times but a sprint finish always seemed likely. In his first race in B Grade Dave Baillie tried to prevent a bunch sprint with an attack a few kilometres before the finish but he was quickly wheeled in. James Henry seems to have too much 'jump' in the B Grade bunch sprints and won again easily. The wily Geoff Thompson got as close to the front of the bunch on the line as he had all race to finish 2nd. Following Thommo were, Pete Findlayson, Pete Bailey, Ross Henry, Luke Handley, Paul Yeatman and Dave Baillie.

C Grade also raced three laps. The bunch worked well together over the first lap, with the only casualty being perennial time trialist Dave Axford. Rob Monk put the pressure on the bunch on the wall the second time up and only Col Brown and Micheal Pridmore were able to respond. Mark Oakley Brown and Bill Murphy were dropped and were not able to get back to the leader for the remainder of the race. Mark was trying so hard to get back on that he snapped his chain on the Fishers Rd wall the third time up but it was a gutsy ride in only his second race. Rob, Mike and Col worked together until Col was dropped by an acceleration just after the turn for home. Michael locked onto Rob's wheel and sprinted over the top of him for a well earned win.

In D Grade another visitor from St Kilda CC, Paul Lajbeybier, took out the race from Paul Kennedy. Brendan Pridmore and Glenda Pridmore filled the other placing's. Next week we have a scratch race at Lillico. We encourage all those members who have taken a little break to get back to racing again to gather some form prior to the 'yellow jersey fever' event coming soon.

Local results 2004