Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycling Club

Barbara Wyles Handicap - Illawarra, NSW, June 25, 2005

Jewel Shines under cloudy skies

The rain held off long enough on Saturday for Mark Jewel to win a twenty-rider strong bunch sprint and take the Barbara Wyles Handicap Race for 2005. Riders from the scratch bunch filled the first four places, with David McMaster the only non-scratch rider to take home prize money for his fifth place effort.

The scratch bunch of Jewel, Luke Dale, Craig Paull, Mark Wall and Peter Jones set a consistent pace that only increased once they caught the block bunch, which started two minutes before them. Despite the block bunches best efforts they were unable to bridge to the three-minute bunch before scratch caught them. Once swept up, Hans Battaerd and Daniel Daly combined well with the scratch riders and it was only a matter of time until all the front riders were caught. Most of the front bunches had joined together at the start of the third of five laps and by the turn at Hooker hill in the third lap all the field was together.

Knowing they were stronger than the rest of the field, the scratch riders were content to share pace making duties around and await the sprint. Several riders tried to make a break in the fourth lap, Dean Marcinkowski in particular would never give up trying to force a small break, however the large bunch size and flat roads made breaking away almost impossible. Jewel won the sprint, with a race time of exactly 66 minutes on the shortened 45km route followed by Dale, Paull, Wall and McMaster.

Next week's race is a 1pm start for the Club Championship for A grade (elite) and A grade veterans. Volunteer marshals from B and C grade are required. The following roles will be reversed when B, C and Women have their Club Championship and the A grade riders provide the marshals. If you are available to marshal either of the next two weeks please let Garry know as soon as possible. Entries close next week for the third round of the interclub series to be held at the Macarthur Course at Menangle on Sunday 17th July at 8am.


All grades - 54km
1 Mark Jewel (Illawarra)               
2 Luke Dale (Illawarra)                
3 Craig Paull (Illawarra)              
4 Mark Wall (Sutherland Shire)         
5 David McMaster (Illawarra)           
6 Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)            
7 Alfred Cook (Canberra)               
8 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)        
9 Daniel Daly (Illawarra)              
10 Peter Jones (Sutherland Shire)      
11 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)         
12 Dean Kelly (Illawarra)              
13 Hans Battaerd (Illawarra)           
14 Phil Latz (Illawarra)               
15 Arron Hull (Illawarra)              
16 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)       
17 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)          
18 Emma Lovelock (Sutherland Shire)    
19 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)            
20 Gary Mandy (Illawarra)              
21 Joe Chiaverini (Illawarra)          
22 Carlo Paiola (Illawarra)            
23 Bernard Farrington (Illawarra)      
24 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)             
25 Graham Dinning (Illawarra)          
26 Sopie McLeod (Illawarra)            
27 Anthony Kneipp (Illawarra)          
28 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)         
DNF Joe Williams (Illawarra)           
DNF Jason Johnson (Illawarra)          
DNF Peter Cooper (Sutherland Shire)    
DNF David Hull (Illawarra)             
DNF Melissa de Clouet (Illawarra)      
DNF Bobby Krstevski (Illawarra)        
DNF Lionel Covington (Illawarra)       


Local results 2004