Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, February 27, 2005

By Mal Sawford

High speed cornering
Photo ©: Frank Cipriano
Click for larger image
B Grade on the bell lap,
Photo ©: Frank Cipriano
Click for larger image

After a slow start to summer, bright weather finally seems to have become the norm in Melbourne, with another near perfect morning for racing. Once again, 200 of Melbourne's crit specialists were out in force, but with a higher concentration of testosterone than usual - many of the leading local women had earned rides in the Geelong round of the World Cup!

The traditional early suicide break in A Grade stayed away for the usual handful of laps, with Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles), Julian Dutton (BikeNOW) and VIS pair Sean Finning and Brad Norton stretching their legs. Next to shake off the pack, which stayed lined out in single file for most of the hour, was David Sturt (Giant/Pro-Motion), Finning, and former Australian champion Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery). The bunch was in a 'chase everything' mood, and not even the pursuit style of junior World Record holder Michael Ford could keep them at bay, and virtually the entire field survived to contest the bunch kick.

Win number eight for the season went to Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy), too fast for Tim Decker (Decked Out Coaching), from Dylan Boone (SBR) and his father Chris (Fitzroy).

There were few attacks from a somewhat lethargic B Grade bunch, with the only move of note coming from Boon Chia and Luke Pledger (O'Mara Cycles) at the forty-five minute mark. The pair weren't able to hold off the bunch, and Rohan McLellan (Richmond Cyclery) dashed home ahead of Darren Weir, James Shepherdson (Burnley Finance/Aqua-Pure) and 'Fast Eddie' Perez. Lisa Friend (Bianchi) came away with the women's points after her closest rival, Peta Mullens (Bianchi) ended up on the grass in a hectic final lap.

Tom Gallagher (Inexa-Team Alex) finally scored the C Grade win that he needed to qualify for B Grade, only a few weeks before his fifteenth birthday. After a run of near misses, the youngster produced a perfect sprint to lead home Curtis Yirildrim and Gordon Minty. Andrea Bishop continued her dominance over the C Grade women, and might have to step to B Grade before the season is over. Rob McLellan (Richmond Cyclery) matched son Rowan's B Grade result with a sprint win in D Grade, while Nick Chilton had his best race with a fine second place ahead of Chris Berry. Meaghan Godfrey was straight back to her winning ways after a long layoff, holding out training partner Fleur Dean and Christine Ervin.

Tommy Nankervis snatched the lead from Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser) in the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex Summer Series with his win. Wayne Andrew, Tom Walker, Michael Thomas and Andrea Bishop are all still within a win of the leaders There is no race at Sandown this Tuesday due to F1 Grand Prix commitments at the track. Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. \ Tuesday night racing resumes on March 8 at Sandown starting at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. All holders of 2005 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 58 Starters
1 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Tim Decker (Bendigo)                       
3 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Chris Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)           
5 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)       
6 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)         
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 57 Starters
1 Rohan McLellan (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Darren Weir (Warragul)                     
3 James Shepherson (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Eddie Perez (Carnegie Caulfield)           
5 Aaron Gullan (Blackburn)                   
1 Lisa Friend (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)                
C Grade 55 minutes + 3 laps, 48 Starters
1 Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Curtis Yirildrim (Blackburn)               
3 Gordon Minty (Mornington)                  
4 Shaun Gatter (Footscray)                   
1 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Tarna Schmidt (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                  
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 23 Starters
1 Rob McLellan (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Nick Chilton (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Chris Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Daryl Beovic (St Kilda)                    
1 Meaghan Godfrey (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Fleur Dean (Carnegie Caulfield)            
3 Christine Ervin (Coburg)                   
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps, 11 Starters
1 Luke Pride (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Scott Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Kellie Williams (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Geraldine Miller (Carnegie Caulfield)      

Local results 2004