Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Melbourne, February 22, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Weir and Morton escape B Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Jake O’Leary leads C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The D Grade bunch
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

With one of the biggest fields this season, and a relatively still night by Sandown standards, it was little surprise that the A Grade race was decided with a bunch sprint on Tuesday evening. Darren Lapthorne (Lloyd Morgan) did his best to ride away from the huge group, spending the first half of the race on his doomed break, while a variety of riders, including Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles), Anthony Smith (Gran Prix) and Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles) joined him on the attack at various stages.

The bunch regrouped in the second half, before an attack by Junior World Pursuit Champion Michael Ford in the final ten minutes sparked a split. Ford was joined by Leigh De Luca (Anaconda), Andrew Aquilina, John Mackenzie (Lloyd Morgan), Lapthorne, Chessum, and Mark Howard (O'Mara). Mario Giramondo (Giramondo Sportswear) had shrugged off a fall on the way to the venue and also made the split despite a lot of missing skin! Julian Dutton (BikeNOW) towed the bunch back up in his efforts to join the leaders, setting things up for the bunch kick. Fittingly, the win was fought out by two of the most consistent sprinters, with Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy) collecting his seventh win of the season ahead of Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser). Dylan Boone (SBR) led out, but had to settle for third ahead of Rob Crowe (HLP/Ridewiser), Ross Mueller and Adrian Salter (Salter Cycles)

With over 70 riders, B Grade was expected to follow the A Grade example and come down to a sprint. Brett Morton and Darren Weir escaped early on, but were soon reeled in. With fifteen minutes remaining, a powerful group of nine comprising Peter Florimell, Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance/Aqua-pure), Cam Winton (Le Tour), Bruce Will, Trevor Hutchings, John Kohlar (O'Mara), Darren Spiteri, Stuart Bendall and Colin Morris, opened a fifty metre lead. With Will and Morrison setting a fearsome pace, Florimell, Kohlar and Bendall lost contact after a lap; Morris and Spiteri were shelled out the back the next time over the hill. The four survivors pulled away from the bunch to fight out a well deserved win, with Hutchings narrowly holding off Winton and Morrison in the sprint down the left hand barrier.

Spiteri recovered well to win the bunch kick, with the International women getting the best of the locals in a strong women's division. Christianne Soeder (Univega) sprinted home ahead of team mate Edwige Pitel, with Briana James (BikeNOW) the first Aussie home.

Three C grade riders dominated their race, with Chris Beales, Gareth Martyn (O'Mara) and Steve Brooks breaking away early on and building an unassailable lead. In what appeared to be a pre-established finishing order, Beales took the three-way 'sprint' and the promotion to B Grade, with Brooks edging out Martyn. Andrew Rolland attacked the bunch on the final lap and soloed home fourth, while Andrea Bishop further extended her lead in the Inexa - Team Alex series with a win over Tarna Schmid in the Women's race.

Jake King (Nepean Cycles) scored his first win in D Grade, taking the sprint ahead of veterans Michael Boyce and Bill Upston, with Anthony Foundling fourth. Celia Vandestadt (Pro-Motion Bicycles) put in another strong ride to lead the women home. Salisbury's second place finish kept him lead in the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex series, ahead of Nankervis, Wayne Andrew and Tom Walker.

All riders should note that there will be no racing at Sandown on Tuesday March 1, as the circuit is off limits while the F1 Grand Prix Celebrity Drivers undergo their crash racing program. Twilight racing resumes on March 8, and continues until the end of March. Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sundays at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday night Twilight Racing at Sandown start at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent.


A Grade 1 hour + 2 laps, 60 Starters        
1 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Dylan Boone (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)         
5 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                  
6 Adrian Salter (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade 55 minutes + 2 laps, 71 Starters    
1 Trevor Hutchings (Footscray)              
2 Cameron Winton (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Josh Morrison (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Bruce Will (Carnegie Caulfield)           
5 Darren Spiteri (Footscray)                
1 Christianne Soeder (Austria)              
2 Edwige Pitel (France)                     
3 Briana James (St Kilda)                   
C Grade 50 minutes + 2 laps, 35 Starters    
1 Chris Beales (Dirt Riders)                
2 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Gareth Martyn (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Andrew Rolland (Blackburn)                
1 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Tarna Schmid (Carnegie Caulfield)         
D Grade 45 minutes + 2 laps, 29 Starters    
1 Jake King (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Michael Boyce (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Bill Upston (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Anthony Foundling (Carnegie Caulfield)    
1 Celia Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     

Local results 2004