Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, February 20, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Even with all the junior trackies chasing glory at the State Championships, close to 200 hundred riders did battle around the high speed Glenvale Crescent circuit. It was also the last opportunity to tune up for the women competing in the Geelong Tour and World Cup next week. Joining regulars Priska Doppmann and her Univega squad on the start line was US Pro Lynn Gaggioli (Monex), who will ride with the composite Lloyd Morgan squad this week.

A Grade kicked off at a frightening pace, strung out at over 50kmh for the first ten minutes before a momentary lull. Simon Clarke (VIS) dashed away, and spent a couple of laps building a handy solo lead, while the other favourites, including Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery) and Robbie Crowe's HLP squad watched each other. Nathan Wise (Lloyd Morgan) set off in pursuit, with your intrepid correspondent in tow! Once contact was made, Clarke continued to do the lion's share of pace setting, and the gap to the bunch continued to grow. Approaching the half way mark, Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles) and Julian Dutton (BikeNOW) began to cross the gap, and Clarke seemed happy to ease a little and wait for the fresh legs. With five in the lead group, the pace picked up again, but proved too hot for Wise and Sawford to follow.

The three survivors had little trouble holding off the bunch, which did get as close as ten seconds in the final laps before accelerating away again. Clarke had too much speed at the finish for his companions, taking the three up sprint from Dutton and 'Snowy' Rowbotham. Tommy Nankervis (Fitzroy) led the bunch home, holding off Crowe and 50 Kilometre Points Classic winner Nic Sanderson (AIS-Mapei). Christiane Soeder (Univega) stretched her legs in the A Grade bunch, and contributed to the unsuccessful chase early on while most were happy to follow wheels.

B Grade finished with a bunch sprint, after a number of breaks looked threatening. Alan Timmer-Arrends and John Harrs escaped at the half way mark, but were reeled in five minutes later. Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance/Aqua-Pure) was next to go, joined by Luke Pledger (O'Mara Cycles) and Thor Navntoft (Jones Cycles). With fifteen minutes to go, the trio was still clear, but showed signs of tiring, prompting Morrison to go it alone. His brave effort came to an end on the final lap, setting things up for the fast men's dash. Tom Walker held off a strong charge from Darren Cathie to take the win; both riders had recently returned to B Grade after unsuccessful stints in A Grade - and both are now headed straight back!

Steve Leishman (BikeNOW), Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Rohan McLellan (Richmond Cyclery) filled the minor places. In the classy Women's division, Under 19 rider Peta Mullens (Giant) caused something of an upset, holding off Gaggioli and Briana James (BikeNOW). Stuart Birnie (Croydon Cycleworks) sprinted to the win in C Grade, after a late move from Andy Cameron and Tom Gallagher (Inexa-Team Alex) had been chased down. Gallagher spun his restricted gear out trying to hold the winner's wheel, and had to settle for second, ahead of Russell Forbes and Jordan Griffiths. Louise Bourke (Fortress) sprinted to the Women's win, ahead of Athena Wilson and Michelle Murrell.

Anthony Kirwan escaped the usually attentive D Grade bunch, bur after a long solo effort was gradually brought back into the field. Jake O'Leary (Terry Hammond Cycles) and Mike Milewski, who gapped the bunch in the dash to the line, with the youngster keeping his wheel in front long enough to claim the win. Both riders have done enough in recent weeks to join the C Grade bunch next week. Best of the rest was Paul McApline and Malcolm Powell, while Celia Vandestadt (Pro-Motion) took out the Women's section ahead of Nana Jernstrom and Christine Ervin.

Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser) continues to lead the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex Summer Series, from Wayne Andrew, Tom Walker and Tommy Nankervis. Andrea Bishop is a clear leader for the Women's Prize.. Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Tuesday night until the end of March with Twilight Racing at Sandown starting at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am.

All holders of 2005 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 53 Starters        
1 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Julian Dutton (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Tommy Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)         
6 Nic Sanderson (Ararat)                    
1 Christiane Soeder (Austria)               
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 66 Starters        
1 Tom Walker (St Kilda)                     
2 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Steve Leishmans (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     
5 Rohan McLellan (Carnegie Caulfield)       
1 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)               
2 Lynn Gaggioli (USA)                       
3 Briana James (St Kilda)                   
C Grade 55 minutes + 3 laps, 35 Starters    
1 Stuart Birnie (Blackburn)                 
2 Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Russell Forbes (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Jordan Griffiths (Carnegie Caulfield)     
1 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                 
2 Athena Wilsoc (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 31 Starters    
1 Jake O'Leary (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Michael Milewski (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Paul McAlpine (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Malcolm Powell (Blackburn)                
1 Celia Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Nana Jernstrom (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Christine Ervin (Coburg)                  
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps, 11 Starters    
1 Chris Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Mark Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Scott Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Mathew Leonard (Mornington)               

Local results 2004