Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Melbourne, February 15, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Daniel Strangio leads B Grade up the climb
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Action from C Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Riders attack the high speed chicane
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

After Sunday's race on the extremely demanding Fitzroy Street hot dog circuit, the normally tough and technical Sandown Raceway course must have seemed a walk in the park for the big field that assembled there on Tuesday evening. With good sizes bunches in all grades, escape proved difficult and, unusually, bunch sprints decided most of the races.

Trying to break things up in A Grade were the usual suspects of Paul Richards (MG), Ray Turner (Bianchi), Danny Kah and Andy Naylor (HLP/Ridewiser); with Cam Lester, Julian Dutton (BikeNOW), and Leigh De Luca (Anaconda) also joining unsuccessful breakaway attempts. St Kilda Festival winner Robert Crowe (HLP/Ridewiser) made his move at three to go, and was joined by Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) and Geoff Stobie (Alchemy), but the trio was reeled in before the start of the final lap. Matt Chessum (Fitzroy Cycles) attacked at the bell, but couldn't hold off the chase, and in the dash to the line, Crowe powered through the stiff headwind along the left hand barriers to take the win by a three lengths, while the other sprinters heading for the right of the wide finishing straight.

Ross Mueller stopped Aaron Salisbury from completing a HLP quinella with a well judged sprint, while Nic Sanderson, Lester and Stobie rounded out the prize list.

Few riders had the strength to break from the sixty-four rider B Grade field. Dennis Bowen-Day got some time trial training in with a solo effort, but the field was largely intact for the duration. Dave Eadie (BikeNOW) had spent much of Sunday's race at the head of the field as he toughens up ahead of another assault on the Hawaii Ironman, and moved to the front of the bunch again for the final two laps.

Eadie was able to eek out a small gap on the final ascent of the back straight, and entered the finishing straight with a fifty-metre advantage. In the head wind finish, the bunch came within inches of denying him the win, but he held on to claim the win ahead of Wayne Andrew, Trent Brown and Geoff Thompson. In a tight finish in the Women's division, Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW) got the judge's verdict over team mate Briana James.

Greg Hunter led the C Grade bunch home with a commanding sprint ahead of last week's winner Steve Sandner (Bikeland); with both riders impressing enough to earn B Grade starts next week. Steve Brooks and Rick Jones (Burnley Finance/Aqua-pure) completed the podium, while a big Women's field saw the win taken by Tarna Schmid over Inexa Series leader Andrea Bishop and Emma Gaul (Giramondo Sportswear).

Preventing a complete set of bunch finishes was D Grade debutant Matt Clarke, who ripped away from the field on the final lap to score a convincing win and a move to C Grade for his second race. Best of the rest was Andrew Stewart, who narrowly held off Andrew Rose and Jake O'Leary (Terry Hammond Cycles) in the sprint for second, while Celia Vandestadt (Pro-Motion) was the only female finisher. Salisbury's third place finish saw him extend his lead in the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex series, with Wayne Andrew overhauling Michael Thomas for second. The consistent Andrea Bishop is well clear for the Women's prize, and still threatens the overall leaders.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sundays at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday night Twilight Racing at Sandown start at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. All holders of Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2005 licenses are also now available. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent.


 A Grade 1 hour + 2 laps, 41 Starters        
1 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                  
3 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)      
4 Nic Sanderson (Ararat)                    
5 Cam Lester (St Kilda)                     
6 Geoff Stobie (Carnegie Caulfield)         
 B Grade 55 minutes + 2 laps, 64 Starters    
1 David Eadie (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Wayne Andrew (Carnegie Caulfield)         
3 Trent Brown (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Geoff Thompson (Warragul)                 
5 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     
1 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Briana James (St Kilda)                   
3 Angela Wade (Melton)                      
 C Grade 50 minutes + 2 laps, 53 Starters    
1 Greg Hunter (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Steve Sandner (Warragul)                  
3 Steve Brooks (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Rick Jones (Carnegie Caulfield)           
1 Tarna Schmid (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Emma Gaul (St Kilda)                      
 D Grade 45 minutes + 2 laps, 25 Starters    
1 Matt Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Andrew Stewart (Chelsea & Peninsula)      
3 Andrew Rose (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Jake O'Leary (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Celia Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)     

Local results 2004