Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Coburg Cycling Club

Campbellfield, February 12, 2005

By Luke McDonough

A close finish to Coburg's Saturday A Grade race as the judges could not pick a winner of the sprint. Andrew Ward (CBD) narrowly took out the intermediate sprint from Darren Lapthorne (Lloyd Morgan) by attacking around the bunch, leaving Lapthorne with nowhere to go. Ward got to a four length lead in the final sprint and seemed to have to race wrapped up, but Lapthorne, with a late lunge, crossed the line neck and neck with Ward. Adrian Vizzari took out third.

B grade saw a break of four off the front after 15 minutes and they worked hard to stay away for the remainder of the race. Aaron Christensen (Hawthorn) too fast for the Sunbury duo of Shaw and Marcan.

In C grade, the Sunbury duo of John Lehner and Ian Parker put in several individual attacks, but the strong southerly wind ensured that any solo attempt off the front would be shut down by the strong wind. Midway through, C grade, after having sized each other up shut off the gas, allowing D grade to catch and overtake them on the bell lap. Andrew Wilmott (Brunswick) easily accounted for new rider Steve Pilson (Coburg) and Eric Jones (Carnegie), to take out back-to-back wins in C grade.

D grade was an all Coburg affair with Andres Rojas, Paul Lewis and Wayne Gebert sharing the spoils. An unlucky Greg Gillard punctured and was not able to feature in the results. Rojas and Gebert, both new members, have shown great improvement in the last few weeks with Rojas ready to step up to C grade next week. Greg Gillard makes a welcome return to racing after 10 years off the bike. Racing continues next week at the 1.7km Campbellfield circuit. C and D grade beginning at 2.00pm and A and B at 2.45pm. All welcome, and please bring licences. For further details please visit the link below: Further details:


A Grade 60 minutes + 3 laps
1 Andrew Ward (Coburg)            
1 Darren Lapthorne (Coburg)       
3 Adrian Vizzari (Coburg)         
Intermediate sprint
 Andrew Ward                      
B Grade 60 minutes + 3 laps
1 Aaron Christensen (Hawthorn)    
2 Gordon Shaw (Sunbury)           
3 John Marcan (Sunbury)           
Intermediate sprint
 Gordon Shaw                      
C Grade 40 minutes + 3 laps
1 Andrew Wilmott (Brunswick)      
2 Steve Pilson (Coburg)           
3 Eric Jones (Carnegie)           
D Grade 40 minutes + 3 laps
1 Andres Rojas (Coburg)           
2 Paul Lewis (Coburg)             
3 Wayne Gebert (Coburg)           

Local results 2004