Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, February 6, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Single file as Doug Garley drives
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Another huge turn out for the weekly speed fest at Glenvale Crescent, with well over 200 hundred riders on the start line, including a record twenty entries for the Junior and Novice E Grade race. Mick Hollingworth had his hands full, and deputised two assistants to help mentor the newcomers - David Buntin and Paul Kelly were the willing volunteers.

Bunch sprints were the order of the day, with the only break to succeed coming in the C Grade race. Even the usual suspects in A Grade couldn't split the bunch, but not for lack of trying! The traditional first lap attack came from Brendan Rowbotham (Fitzroy Cycles), John Mackenzie (Lloyd Morgan), Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) and Vodafone derny pilot extraordinaire Leigh De Luca. Once the bunch had regrouped, all eyes were on big Robbie Crowe (HLP/Ridewiser) and Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery). The two dominant riders didn't disappoint, with a number of attacks, but weren't able to get significant gaps, and were always quickly chased down. Some observers were heard to wonder whether Crowe was saving himself for his all out attack on the big money series the local Vets club runs on Thursday nights!

Josh Morrison on his winning solo ride
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

In the dying stages, a group of eight riders rolled off the front, while all the favoured sprinters looked for someone else to take up the chase. Fortunately, one of the Silver Medallists at the previous night's Australian Madison Championships, Simon Clarke (VIS), was up to the job, and reeled the break in on the penultimate lap. Shea lead into the home straight, but was swamped by the fast men, with Aaron Salisbury (HLP/Ridewiser) holding off Tighello and Clarke with an impressive sprint. Katie Mactier (Fitzroy Cycles), who is sitting out the Aussie track titles after her recent bout of pneumonia, was joined by Univega riders Priska Doppmann and Christiane Soeder in the A Grade bunch, with Doppmann coming away with the cash.

With close to 70 riders, it was very unlikely that a small group would be able to hold off the huge B Grade bunch. James Shepherdson and Richard Cormick (Burnley Finance) had a crack anyway, joined by Emma Rickards (VIS) and Brett Morton (Le Tour Cycles), but their efforts were predictably in vain. After a pile-up in the final lap the week before, the B Grade bunch seemed to have learnt that it is not a good idea to soft pedal in the final lap in the hope that someone else will tow you to the line! The pace remained very high for the final three laps and were incident free, but the swarm of riders sprinting to the line made things tough for the judges.

Blair Purvis took the win by half a length, with only inches separating the next five riders. The video showed that Ricky Peoples (Lloyd Morgan) had backed up well from a good ride in the Madison support races to claim second from Chris Garrard and Glen Wright (Giramondo Sportswear).

D Grade action
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

Curtis Yirildirim escaped the C Grade bunch in the opening laps, and spent much of the first half of the race alone at an impressive pace. Eventually, his escape came to an end, and after a brief regrouping Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance) powered away, and held off the chase to record a convincing win. Greg Hunter led the chasers home from John Sheard (Pro-Motion Bicycles) and Stuart Birnie (Croydon Cycleworks). Lisa Friend (Bianchi) was too good for a strong Women's contingent, out-kicking Michelle Murrell and Andrea Bishop in the dash to the line.

While the D Grade bunch sprint was well won by John Claydon from Alister Stuart and Jordan Griffiths, the ride of the day came from young Aaron Eynaud. After two seasons in E Grade, the diminutive youngster from Blackburn made the jump to the D Grade bunch, and despite expecting to only last a few laps, looked to be having a ball as he stayed with the bunch for the entire race. Tommy Nankervis sat out racing after a tough Madison, and surrendered his lead in the $7000 Inexa - Team Alex Summer Series to Michael Thomas. Wayne Andrew, Tom Walker and Aaron Salisbury are all within striking distance, while Women's leader Andrea Bishop extended her lead over Louisa Judd and shares outright fourth.

The record breaking junior/novice field
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

All riders are reminded that there is no racing at Glenvale Crescent next Sunday. CCCC racing relocates to the famous St Kilda Festival, for the third running of the St Kilda Festival Criterium. Entry fee is $15 with D Grade starting the carnival at 8.30am. A Women's race follows at 9.15, with the girls also entitled to race in one of the Open grades at no extra cost. C grade starts at 10.00am, B Grade at 10.50 with the main event starting at 11.45am sharp. Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Tuesday night with Twilight Racing at Sandown starting at 6.30pm for all grades, with access to the circuit via Sandown Road from 6pm. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. All holders of 2005 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20.. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, including full standings in the Inexa Series, go to


A Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 53 Starters        
1 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Geordan Murray (Carnegie Caulfield)       
5 Robert Crowe (Carnegie Caulfield)         
6 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
 Priska Doppmann (Switzerland)              
B Grade 1 hour + 3 laps, 67 Starters        
1 Blair Purvis (Canada)                     
2 Ricky Peoples (Shepparton)                
3 Chris Garrard (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Glen Wright (Footscray)                   
5 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Emma Rickards (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Edwige Pitel (France)                     
3 Kirsty Bortolin (Blackburn)               
C Grade 55 minutes + 3 laps, 43 Starters    
1 Josh Morrison (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Greg Hunter (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 John Sheard (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Stuart Birnie (Blackburn)                 
1 Lisa Friend (Carnegie Caulfield)          
2 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
3 Andrea Bishop (Carnegie Caulfield)        
D Grade 50 minutes + 3 laps, 33 Starters    
1 Jonathan Claydon (Carnegie Caulfield)     
2 Alister Stuart (Fat Tyre Fliers)          
3 Jordan Griffiths (Carnegie Caulfield)     
4 Andrew Donohue (Carnegie Caulfield)       
 Brittany Foster (Geelong)                  
E Grade 45 minutes + 3 laps, 20 Starters    
1 Paul Gorosito (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Dale Reith (Blackburn)                    
3 Chris Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Paul Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)           

Local results 2004