Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, December 18, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Goddard and Knevitt
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The final break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Tasmanian visitor Simon Van der Aa
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Kirsty Bortolin leads Emma Gaul
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Manwel Falcon
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Ike Collings
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Jack Cummings leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

The threat of showers and the big money up for grabs at the afternoon's Jayco Dandenong Crit kept numbers low at Glenvale Crescent on Sunday morning, but the weather gods were kind and all five races were completed on dry roads.

The much smaller A Grade bunch than usual meant that every rider was expected to do a turn, which came as something of a shock to the system for a few (including the author)! In the windy conditions, the attacks started early, with Ray Turner (Bianchi), David Sturt (Giant) and Michael Bailey (Bicycle Superstore) prominent.
None of the early attacks broke the shackles, until Jamie Goddard and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) combined to build a big lead. Goddard decided the pace was unsustainable and sat up after a few laps, leaving Knevitt to go it alone until the half way mark. Once Knevitt was back in the fold, another series of attacks from Sturt, Justin Davis (O'Mara) and Matt Shea (Naughty Boy) led to the final selection, with a dozen riders making the split.

MTB star James Maebus (Raceline) rolled off the front of the bunch with ten minutes to race, and while the rest of the front group looked in vain for Sturt or Davis to respond, the youngster put his head down and built an unassailable lead. Late attacks saw second and third place go to Shea and Dale Woonton, with the rest of the lead group left to battle for fourth.
Brendan Rowbotham (SHM) caught the sprinters napping a thousand metres from home, leaving Goddard and Michael Downing to sprint home for the final prize envelopes.

B Grade had the biggest bunch of the day, and ended up with the only bunch kick for the morning. The Burnley Finance squad did their best to dictate proceedings, sending David Taylor away early, and team mate Rick Jones counter attacked with Mark Kotzen for a brief escape after Taylor was reeled in.
In the end, young Curtis Yirildrim produced a sizzling sprint to claim the win, from Trevor Cameron (aboc Cycle Coaching) and Tom Blazevic. Kirsty Bortolin (The Freedom Machine) continued her good form, with a win in the women's division ahead of Emma Gaul (Giramondo Sportswear).

After single handedly decimating the D Grade bunch at his last start, Manwel Falcon (CBD Cycles) made an impressive debut in C Grade, figuring in all the early moves. Paul Groves (Croydon Cycleworks) and Marcus Schnell were also active early, but Falcon had the staying power to continue his attacks into the second half of the race.
Eventually, he went clear with Nick Pelacek and Paul Nankervis, and the trio pulled well clear of the bunch in the final ten minutes. There was clearly a gentlemen's agreement between the trio not to contest the finish, but the judges had to pick a winner as the three crossed the line shaking hands. Nankervis was credited with the win from Pelacek and Falcon, although there was no more than three inches in it!
Dean Stewart hit out at two to go and held on to claim fourth place, while a competitive women's race saw Clare Vlahopolous taken the cash in her first C Grade race from Fiona Adler and Louisa Judd (Hampton Cycles).

A late break of three also scooped the bulk of the prizes in D Grade, after a sustained burst of speed from Jason Swackhamer at the twenty minute mark saw a few early retirements. Jack Dovaston tried his hand with a short burst off the front before his asthma flared up, and even Ike Collings was seen to attack off the front.
The three to make the break were Swackhamer and up and coming juniors Oliver Le Grice and Mitchell Gregory. Although Gregory in particular seemed desperate for the judges to call an early end, all three survived the distance, with the two youngsters fighting out the win in a drag race the full length of the finishing straight. Le Grice claimed his maiden win, while in the bunch sprint for fourth, Tim Joiner triumphed. Penny Athanasoplous collected her first prize money with a determined effort to take the Women's prize.

Carnegie Caulfield's final race for 2005 is on Tuesday evenings at Sandown, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. The first race in 2006, after a short holiday break, will be back at Sandown on January 3.
Sunday mornings resume at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2) on January 8, with a new schedule of start times. B Grade riders will need to set their alarms a little earlier, joining D and E Grades on the start line at 9am, while A and C Grades will ride at 10am.
All holders of 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events, and renewals can also be processed via the Cycling Australia website,
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 James Maebus (Dirt Riders)                  
1 Matt Shea (Footscray)                       
3 Dale Woonton (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)      
5 Jamie Goddard (Blackburn)                   
6 Michael Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)        
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Curtis Yirildrim (Blackburn)                
2 Trevor Cameron (Blackburn)                  
3 Tom Blazevic (Carnegie Caulfield)           
4 Wayne Andrew (Carnegie Caulfield)           
5 Andrew Curtain (St Kilda)                   
1 Kirsty Bortolin (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Emma Gaul (Footscray)                       
C Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Paul Nankervis (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Nick Pelacek (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Manwel Falcon (Coburg)                      
4 Dean Stewart (Northcote)                    
1 Clare Vlahopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Fiona Adler (Mornington)                    
3 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)            
D Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Oliver Le Grice (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Mitchell Gregory (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Jason Swackhamer (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Tim Joiner (Blackburn)                      
 Penny Athanasopolous (Carnegie Caulfield)    
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Natalie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Jack Cummings (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 George Vissariou (Carnegie Caulfield)       
4 Michelle Augustinek (Carnegie Caulfield)     

Local results 2004