Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Riverland Cycling Club

Monash, South Australia, December 13, 2005

President Pankhurst records determined win

The Riverland Cycling Club's twighlight criterium series continued on Tuesday night but on an alternative course at Monash. Riders stayed in their graded bunches for the races as the corners were made neutral zones due to loose gravel thus preventing breakaways and surges in these areas.

In A grade, riders played cat and mouse, constantly surging and attacking to work out who was up to the task or not. The group consisted of Hamish MacKirdy, Lee Stevens, Josh Steele and Nigel Willoughby. With Steele and Willoughby improving from race to race, the group was evenly matched and provided the super fit and in-form MacKirdy with some tough competition. Stevens was also desperate to record a win against MacKirdy. In a long sprint to the finish it was MacKirdy first over the line again shadowed by Stevens. Next in third place was Willoughby, who showed that it wont be long before he records a win, with Steele coming in fourth.

The B grade race saw Mick Grey return to the winners circle by producing a good win by outsprinting a formidable Lara MacKirdy. Chris Stevens again showed he is a rider to look out for in criteriums by finishing third.

A last second lunge for the line determined the C-grade winner, with Mark Kershaw recording his first criterium win by crossing the line only inches in front of Ben Vagnarelli. Ruth Strout, also part of the final sprint, followed in third place with Angelo Ylia crossing the line in fourth.
In D grade, Bob Pankhurst was too good for his fellow riders by producing a superb ride to win from the powerful Graham Butt (second), last week's comfortable winner, and the ever consistent John Eshmann (third). Next week's criterium will the last for 2005, with all riders encouraged to attend what will be a fantastic night of racing. Racing starts at 6:15pm.


A Grade
1 Hamish MacKirdy      
2 Lee Stevens          
3 Nigel Willoughby     
4 Josh Steele          
B Grade
1 Mick Grey            
2 Lara MacKirdy        
3 Chris Stevens        
4 Amanda Steele        
C Grade
1 Mark Kershaw         
2 Ben Vagnarelli       
3 Ruth Strout          
4 Angelo Ylia          
D Grade
1 Bob Pankhurst        
2 Graham Butt          
3 John Eshman          
4 Gordon Lawton         

Local results 2004