Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown, Melbourne, December 13, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Ash Hayat leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Nathan Wise
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Wise shows the strain
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Tom Blazevic leads
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Kirsty Bortolin moves up
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Eastern Vets supremo Ian Smith
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Greg Lane checks the damage
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The D Grade women
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

The turn out almost doubled this week at Sandown Raceway, with near perfect weather after last week's wind and rain. A Grade once again had the biggest field of the night, as more and more local riders qualify to test themselves against the established big hitters.

Even without Sandown's customary winds to help split the bunch, the sheer pace of the opening laps saw many riders stuck permanently at the back of the strung out bunch, while out front Robert Tighello (Richmond Cyclery) was doing his best to tear the race apart. Joining the former Australian Road Champion in the early move were Ash Hayat (The Freedom Machine), Damon De Angelis (Promains) and Matt Shea (Naughty Boy). By the fifteen minute mark, however, the field had regrouped and another flurry of attacks commenced. Birthday boy Nathan Wise (Richmond Cyclery) was next to go on the attack, accompanied by Promains duo Anthony Smith and Mick Teggelove. On the long climb up the back straight half way through the hour, and with the impetus stalling at the head of the main bunch, Tighello shot out of the pack and reached the leaders, and with his added power, the break opened their advantage significantly.

Teggelove lost contact with the lead group shortly before the final two laps, but the remaining three riders had no trouble holding off a belated chase from a group of ten riders who escaped the main field. As Wise lead trio up the climb on the final lap, his team mate launched from third wheel, and opened a two length lead on Smith, and gradually pulled away over the final kilometre to the finish. Wise rolled home third, while Junior World Pursuit champion Michael Ford claimed fourth by attacking the chase group at the base of the climb to time trial the final half lap to the line. Big Rob Crowe (HLP) led out the sprint for fifth, but couldn't hold off form rider Ross Mueller in the final metres.

The B Grade race looked like coming down to a bunch kick, with none of the attacks in the first half of the race gaining more than a few seconds, but in the final few minutes Will Tehan (Prime Estate), Josh Morrison (Burnley Finance) and Canberra visitor Leigh Richards went clear, catching most of the bunch unawares. Richards couldn't hold the pace set by Tehan on the final climb, and while Morrison hung tough, he wasn't able to come off the winner's wheel in the dash to the line. Leading the bunch home, Chris Garrard held off Wayne Flint and the Women's race saw Kirsty Bortolin (The Freedom Machine) too fresh for a hard working Mary Rogers (Kathy Watt's Personal Training).

The evening's only bunch sprint came from the C Grade bunch, where Manuel Lawrence denied the unlucky Michael Thomas yet another chance at a win. Close behind in the battle for the minor places were Alister Stuart and James Bourne (Monash University). In the Women's division, Michelle Murrell capped off her final C Grade race with a clear win over Rebecca Hanning.

Up and coming juniors Peter Walker and Daniel Noy charged away from the D Grade bunch shortly after the end of the controlled section, and it took a serious commitment from the D Grade vets mafia to close the gap. The two youngsters tried again in the final ten minutes, and this time the chase couldn't muster the same enthusiasm and the pair pulled steadily away. The school mates had clearly decided to share the spoils of the win, with Walker coasting across the line marginally ahead. Andrew Oosterweigl (Cycle Science) led the bunch home ahead of Stuart Campbell, with Anni Jensen (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) taking the Women's win well up in the main bunch. Lindsay Brown (O'Mara Cycles) held off Melissa Nicholls by a few inches to claim second place a few seconds further back.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Please note that there will be no racing at either venue over the Christmas period - December 25th to January 1st - with CCCC's first race for 2006 at Sandown on January 3rd. All holders of current Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 2 laps
1 Robert Tighello (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Nathan Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)         
5 Ross Mueller (Brunswick)                  
6 Robert Crowe (St Kilda)                   
B Grade - 55 minutes + 2 laps
1 Will Tehan (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Josh Morrison (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Leigh Richards (Canberra)                 
4 Chris Garrard (Carnegie Caulfield)        
5 Wayne Flint (Carnegie Caulfield)          
1 Kirsty Bortolin (Carnegie Caulfield)      
2 Maryam Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)        
C Grade - 50 minutes + 2 laps
1 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)               
2 Michael Thomas (Blackburn)                
3 Alister Stuart (MTBA)                     
4 James Bourne (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)             
2 Rebecca Hanning (Coburg)                  
D Grade - 45 minutes + 2 laps
1 Peter Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Daniel Noy (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Andrew Osterweigl (Carnegie Caulfield)    
4 Stuart Campbell (Carnegie Caulfield)      
1 Anni Jensen (Chelsea & Peninsula)         
2 Lindsay Brown (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Melissa Nicholls (Carnegie Caulfield)     

Local results 2004