Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown, Melbourne, December 6, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Murray Spink and Aaron Salisbury
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Simon Shaw launches an attack
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Darren Sayers at full throttle
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Bill Upston
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

An afternoon of heavy rain cleared in the late afternoon long enough to dry the Sandown race track and allow racing to get underway. Torrential rain returned just before the scheduled completion, and races were shortened by five minutes to miss the worst of the rain, but just under 100 optimists got the chance to test themselves on another tough evening.

There were plenty of attacks early on the A Grade race, but the strong head wind gusting down the back straight proved too much for any break to combat. When the drizzle came, and the final two laps were called there were still a dozen riders in contention, but a last lap attack from Junior World Pursuit Champion Michael Ford (VIS) saw him solo to a good win. Ford is rebuilding after a serious leg injury required surgery at the end of the road season, but looks well on the way to a full recovery.
Aaron Salisbury (HLP) took the bunch sprint for second ahead of Cam Wise (Pro-Motion Bicycles), Anthony Smith (Promains) and Brendan Rowbotham (SHM).

Tim Lee attacked the B Grade bunch in the opening minutes and held the chase at bay for two laps before a series of counter attacks saw his advantage disappear. The tough conditions were expected to favour hard men like Bruce Will and Ken Ford, but a tough weekend at the Tour of Bright had obviously taken its toll.
A bunch sprint decided the race, with a handful of riders caught out by the early finish and less than perfect communication from the finish line officials. Roy Clark opened a small gap into the final corner and held on for the win, ahead of young Tom Gallagher (Inexa Race Frames), Chris Garrard and David O'Leary. Mary Rogers (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) was the first woman home.

A break of four early in the C Grade race was never threatened, with Darren Sayers, Danny Weatherley, Darryl Pate and Mark Gallagher combining well after an early move featuring Louisa Judd (Hampton Cycles) was neutralised. Gallagher was too strong in the dash to the line, taking the win ahead of Sayers, while Michelle Murrell led the women home in the main bunch.
Todd Spain's (Promains) run of second places continued in D Grade, with the win going to new rider Glen Hastings. Spain will make the move to C Grade after his run of near misses, while the minor places went to Andrew Rose and Mitchell Gregory.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am. Tuesday Twilight racing at Sandown runs every week until the end of March, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour
1 Michael Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)         
2 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)      
3 Cameron Wise (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)        
5 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
6 Murray Spink (Dirt Riders)                
B Grade - 55 minutes
1 Roy Clark (Carnegie Caulfield)            
2 Tom Gallagher (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Chris Garrard (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 David O'Leary (Carnegie Caulfield)        
5 Luke Hanley (Warragul)                    
 Maryam Rogers (Carnegie Caulfield)         
C Grade - 50 minutes
1 Mark Gallagher (Footscray)                
2 Darren Sayers (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Danny Weatherley (Carnegie Caulfield)     
4 Darryl Pate (Carnegie Caulfield)          
 Michelle Murrell (Mornington)              
D Grade - 50 minutes
1 Glen Hastings (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Todd Spain (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Andrew Rose (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Mitch Gregory (Carnegie Caulfield)         

Local results 2004