Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Glenvale Crescent, Melbourne, December 4, 2005

By Mal Sawford

Weatherley, Groves and Schnell
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
The chase
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Palecek drives the break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
Manuel Falcon
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
D Grade winner Dean Berry
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image
New CCCC Life Member Lorraine Collings
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Click for larger image

With the popular Tour of Bright attracting the serious roadies, and the Melbourne Cup on Wheels track carnival the night before, officials were expecting a quiet day at Glenvale Crescent, but were pleasantly surprised when over 180 riders paid their entry fees.

The wind picked up throughout the morning, developing into a very strong and gusty northerly for the start of the A and B Grade races. Early attacks in A Grade kept the bunch strung out, but the head wind leg towards corner four proved tough enough to keep the attackers within easy reach of the bunch. Pat Shaw (Giant) made a welcome return to racing after the horrific facial injuries he suffered in this year's Herald Sun Tour, and although claiming to be down on fitness was quickly on the attack.
The winning move finally came after the half way mark, with Richard England (VIS) jumping across to Anthony Smith (Promains). Aaron Salisbury (HLP), Brendan Rowbotham (SHM), Danny Kah and Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) had enough left to join the leading group, and quickly pulled away from the bunch, eventually lapping the field save for two small chase groups. Salisbury was clearly the quickest finisher in the group, and sprinted to a well earned win, ahead of England, Smith and Rowbotham,

The B Grade race became one of attrition in the difficult conditions, with close to half the bunch happy to watch the final laps from the sidelines. Cagey Footscray vet Glen Hutchinson (Salter Cycles) mastered the conditions best, and sprinted to the win which could well make him one of the oldest A Grade competitors going around!
Jason Theobald continued a run of success with second in the sprint, ahead of Wayne Andrew, Brett Buckland and Wayne Flint, while a healthy Women's field was led in by Peta Mullens (VIS) from Rachel Rademaker (Cycle Link) and Briana James (The Freedom Machine).

Just when it seemed that the sprinters in C Grade were capable of neutralising any attack, an early break succeeded this week! Marcus Schnell and Nick Palecek made the initial move, five minutes in, and were joined the following lap by Danny Weatherley. Paul Groves (Croydon Cycleworks) was the final rider to make it across, and the quartet built up a lead of over thirty seconds.
The gap came down dramatically in the closing stages, with the field within ten seconds at three to go. It was touch and go over the final laps; with the extra pace snapping Palecek's legs, but Schnell had enough in reserve to power away from Weatherley and Groves on the final lap to take the win.
Manuel Lawrence was best of the rest for fourth, and the Women's bunch saw the win go to Louise Bourke (Fortress) from Louisa Judd (Hampton Cycles) and Brittany Foster.

Manuel Falcon (CBD Cycles) shot off the front of the D Grade bunch early on, and the resulting frantic chase decimated the shell shocked bunch. He was eventually reeled in, but jumped away again after a few minutes recovery, and was only caught in the final laps when some of the more experienced riders organised the fastest D Grade paceline in history.
In a sprint almost too close to separate, Dean Berry (Bicycle Superstore) denied the unlucky Todd Spain by an inch, with Echuca youngster Nathan Oman third from Peter Walker. British visitor Sophie Ruderman was the only Women's survivor on an unusually tough day, and sprinted well to finish just outside the top four.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue Tuesday evenings at Sandown, with the Sandown Road gate opening at 6pm for a 6.30pm race start for all grades. Sunday mornings are at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). C, D and E Grades start at 9am, while A and B Grade ride at 10am.
All holders of 2005 or 2006 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. 2006 licenses are now available at all CCCC events.
For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts novice racing clinics within the E Grade race at Glenvale Crescent. For further details, go to


A Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Aaron Salisbury (Carnegie Caulfield)      
1 Richard England (Blackburn)               
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)        
4 Brendan Rowbotham (Carnegie Caulfield)    
5 Danny Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)            
6 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)       
B Grade - 1 hour + 3 laps
1 Glen Hutchinson (Footscray)               
2 Jason Theobald (Carnegie Caulfield)       
3 Wayne Andrew (Carnegie Caulfield)         
4 Brett Buckland (Blackburn)                
5 Wayne Flint (Carnegie Caulfield)          
1 Peta Mullens (Latrobe City)               
2 Rachel Rademaker (Blackburn)              
3 Briana James (Carnegie Caulfield)         
C Grade - 55 minutes + 3 laps
1 Marcus Schnell (Carnegie Caulfield)       
2 Danny Weatherley (Carnegie Caulfield)     
3 Paul Groves (Carnegie Caulfield)          
4 Manuel Lawrence (Blackburn)               
1 Louise Bourke (Blackburn)                 
2 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)          
3 Brittany Foster (Geelong)                 
D Grade - 50 minutes + 3 laps
1 Dean Berry (Carnegie Caulfield)           
2 Todd Spain (Carnegie Caulfield)           
3 Nathan Oman (Echuca)                      
4 Peter Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)         
1 Sophie Ruderman (England)                 
2 Melissa Nichols (Carnegie Caulfield)      
E Grade - 45 minutes + 3 laps
1 Phill Berolis (Carnegie Caulfield)        
2 Jack Cummings (Carnegie Caulfield)        
3 Natalie Howard (Carnegie Caulfield)       

Local results 2004