Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Peter McDonald looks back
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Click for larger image
Tony Iannacito salutes
Photo ©: Tony Horneman
Click for larger image

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

Heffron Park, November 20, 2004

Tony Iannacito (Caravello) used his head in the closing stages to win the A-Grade 36km race at Heffron Park on Saturday. Confronted with some top-gun riders including 2004 Grafton to Inverell Classic winner Peter McDonald (Randwick Botany/FRF Couriers), Iannacito chose his time carefully to make a winning breakaway with 1500m to go. The peleton tried to chase him down in the final straight, but spurred on by supporters and spectators, Iannacito pushed home to win by 20 metres. Minor placings went to Jerzy Sowa, Nick Rathborne and Peter McDonald, with an average speed of 40km/h.

Another solo win was scored in the 32km B-Grade event with visiting French based rider David Everett from the VC Pontivy Cycling Club finishing 100 metres ahead of the rest. Luke Davison took second, followed by big Roger Crawford and Andy Hall.

Junior riders competed in several timed races, allowing them to develop their skills, with Junior racing starting at 4pm during daylight saving after senior races. This is an ideal opportunity for junior riders to watch top A-Grade riders in action prior to taking to the circuit for their events. Senior riders can also provide advice to up-and-coming juniors, to further enhance their skills and knowledge of the sport.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club is proudly sponsored by Cheeky Monkey Cycle Company - Clovelly Road Centennial Park, Newington Inn - Petersham, DS Labels - Marrickville, and Excelpro; distributors of Argon 18 and Colnago bicycles. Criterium racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra, each Saturday afternoon. - Seniors, D and E Grades at 2.00pm and A, B and C Grades at 3.00pm. Juniors; 4.00pm For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307, email: or website

A Grade, 36km
1 Tony Iannacito (Caravello)                       
2 Jerzy Sowa (Randwick Botany)                     
3 Nick Rathborne (Eastern Suburbs)                 
4 Peter McDonald (Randwick Botany/FRF Couriers)    
B Grade, 32km
1 David Everett (VC Pontivy, France)               
2 Luke Davison (Randwick Botany)                   
3 Roger Crawford (Randwick Botany)                 
4 Andy Hall (Randwick Botany)                      
C Grade, 28km
1 Simon Llewellyn (Dulwich Hill)                   
2 Stuart King (Randwick Botany)                    
3 Andy Portess (Randwick Botany)                   
4 Marko Turner (Randwick Botany)                   
5 Roy Gruenpeter (Sydney)                          
D Grade, 20km
1 Justin Sharples (Randwick Botany)                
2 Tayla Aitchison (Southern Cross)                 
3 Aaron Bicknell (Randwick Botany)                 
E Grade, 16km
1 Andrew Pike (Randwick Botany)                    
2 Leeann Emery (Randwick Botany)                   
3 Kevin Malcolm (Bankstown)                        
4 John Siounis (Waratah Veterans)                  
5 Dave Birss (Bankstown Sports)                    

Local results 2004