Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Trek Bikes Summer Series #3

Heffron Park, Maroubra, January 20, 2004

B Grade win in the wind

By John Sunde

On a hot and incredibly windy night, Polish rider and new Randwick Botany recruit, Jerzy Sowa, won Round 3 of the Trek Bikes Summer Series at Heffron Park when he outsprinted his B Grade breakaway companion, Peter McDonald and four C Grade riders after the six man group broke away with two laps to go. He also collected 15 points in the intermediate sprints and is now equal second in the series and sprint competitions and must soon be looking at an A Grade start. Jose Rodriguez (Easts) still holds the overall lead in the series which has a Trek 5500 Carbon OCLV frame for first prize.

And to prove that the confusion on the last lap of the opening stage of the Tour Down Under wasn't confined to Adelaide, Heffron Park had its version when an earlier C Grade breakaway of Mark Robertson (Randwick Botany), Jacob Borger (Clarence St Cyclery), Duncan Markham (Manly) and Chris Guillan (Southern Cross) were unfortunately disqualified from the first four places when they were deemed to have taken advantage of A grade overtaking them with eight laps to go. Under the race format, A Grade have to catch C Grade twice on the 2km circuit. The first time is usually in the first five laps and C Grade are obliged to let the A Grade riders pass.

A Grade newcomer to Heffron Park, but no stranger to Australian cycling, Uruguayan Hector Morales, attempted an early solo break and it was from this break and the subsequent A Grade chase that the four C Grade breakaways had allegedly benefited. Despite their protests after the race, it was remarkable that the four-man C Grade group had built their original 100m advantage to almost 1000m in the space of two laps on one of the windiest nights of the summer. The jury is still out and final results and prizes will be ratified next week.

Meanwhile, back in the rest of the race, B Grade had self-destructed in the wind and were down to 10 riders from 24 starters on the seven laps to go intermediate sprint. Soon after the five laps to go sprint, Jerzy Sowa and Peter McDonald, who once again was a powerhouse in B Grade, made their move to bridge the gap to the C grade bunch which were now in sight, except the four 'illegal' escapees who were well and truly out of sight.

A Grade, with only 12 starters were always going to struggle in the windy conditions and were now fragmenting in the chase to reel in the flying South American.

Two laps to go and Sowa launched another move which saw the final group of six escape for line honours. In the scramble for the single A Grade place available, Easts rider Dave Stewart launched a late move which saw him catch Morales and solo to the A Grade win.

Pending protests and other litigation results, current pointscore is below.

This weekend Australia celebrates the Australia Day long weekend and on Monday January 26th, the 11th Annual Joseph Sunde Memorial Criteriums will be conducted at Heffron Park starting with the Masters race at 8am. The feature race starts at 10am and all proceeds from the day are donated to the Childrens Cancer Institute of Australia or you can visit to make a direct donation.


1 Jerzy Sowa (Randwick Botany)
2 Peter McDonald (Randwick Botany)
3 Jason Ockerby (St George)
4 Danny Iannazzo (Easts)
5 Keegan Aitchinson (Randwick Botany)
1st A Grade: Dave Stewart (Randwick Botany)
Trek Bikes Poinstcore
1 Jose Rodriguez         10 pts
2 Steve Wooldridge        7
2 Jerzy Sowa              7
4 Chris Gruber            4
4 Peter Hatton            4
4 Peter McDonald          4
7 Robert Cater            3
7 Jason Ockerby           3
9 Jeff Jones              2
9 Rodney McGee            2
9 Danny Iannazzo          2
12 Matthew Lucas          1
12 Stewart Campbell       1
12 Keegan Aitchinson      1
A/B Grade Sprint King
1 Peter McDonald         23 pts
2 Jerzy Sowa             18
3 David Green            16
4 Matthew Lucas          12
5 Scott Callum            9
5 Alan Bozunovic          9
7 Jose Rodriguez          6
8 Steve Wooldridge        5
9 Chris Gruber            3
9 Peter Hatton            3
11 Craig Dempsey          1
11 Trent Iliffe           1
11 Robert Cater           1
11 Stephen Pearson        1
C Grade Poinstcore
1 Duncan Markham          6 pts
1 Danny Iannazzo          6
3 Jason Ockerby           5
4 Shane Howley            3
4 Mark Robertson          3
4 Keegan Aitchinson       3
7 Chris Dowd              1

Local results 2004