Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Raceway, Mulgrave, Tuesday, January 20, 2004

By Mal Sawford

Mitchell Docker leads a late break in A Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford

After a warm day, the cool change kept things bearable for racing, and thankfully, the forecast accompanying showers held off allowing the program to be completed without interruption. The Korean team was back again, but this time their abilities were widely known, and they started the race as marked men. Kyung Bang Song was the first to attack with Carnegie hour record holder Doug Garley (Terry Hammond Cycles). Although their attack was short lived, it set the tone for the rest of the hour, with one group after another trying to go clear in the windy conditions.

Garley, who had sat out Sunday's Crit to mount new tyres to the Club President's good track wheels, and Leigh De Luca (Specialised), were both having good days and seemed to be driving every move. Not faring so well was Dylan Boone (Team MG-ZT), who punctured twice on the pristine circuit! Wily Ray Turner (Bianchi) was a little more selective, saving his efforts for the closing stages, but despite a strong group of riders including Simon Clarke (BikeNOW), Mitchell Docker (Drapac) and Joel Pearson (Team MG-ZT) getting a gap at three laps to go the field was all together at the bell.

Docker made his final bid for glory with a strong attack on the last climb, but was quickly chased down. Veteran strong man Guy Green (Le Tour Cycles) jumped early and led out of the final corner, but was overhauled twenty meters from home by the rapidly closing bunch. Bunch sprint specialist Simon Walker (Victorian State Homeloans) appeared at the head of the race for the first time of the night to take the win, a wheel length clear of Pearson, and track star Todd Wilksch (Fitzroy Cycles). Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) continued his return to form with fourth, ahead of Soon Young Choi and Clarke astride his new Team Alex Carbon prototype.

Ken Ford (Gran Prix Bicycles) and A Grade refugee Martin Bole followed an early attack by Darren Cathie in the B Grade race, before Cathie remembered his forte is the bunch kicks and returned to the shelter of the bunch. Ford and Bole kept driving, and seemingly unaffected by the strong headwind down the main straight, opened an unassailable lead.

Ford had too much in reserve in the final lap, taking a good win, while Bole's second place will see him back to A Grade for the rest of the season. The bunch was led home by Nick Gates (BikeNOW) and West Australian Carlo Barendilla, with Cheryl Walker too quick for Swiss International Priska Doppman in the bunch sprint.

David Downing (Le Tour Cycles) led an early attack in C Grade with Chris Beales and Scott Jensen, but with still over thirty minutes to race the tough conditions got the better of the trio, and the bunch regrouped. The eventual bunch sprint saw Simon Vandestadt (Pro-Motion Bicycles) collect his first win, ahead of Marcel ‘ the best coffee in Australia' Musco (Brunetti Coffee) and the Downing youngsters, Michael and Tess. Tess' strong ride to beat the Korean pair of Yong Mi Kim and Song Hee Han home impressed the Korean Coach; and he was visibly shocked to learn the young star is only 15 years old!

Veteran Echuca rider Brian Dew put five lengths into the D Grade bunch in their bunch sprint, to lead home Simon Shaw, Brett McNally and Chris Pulling. Louisa Judd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) took her second win in succession in the Women's division, leading home Kasey Smith.

Simon Lancaster's lead in the $7000 Team Alex Criterium Series is down to a solitary point! Cheryl Walker's recent promotion to B Grade hasn't slowed her charge up the leader board, and she now sits on 101 points. Matt Jensen's consistent run continued and he holds down third place with 93 points ahead of Ferne Walklate (87) and the leading A Grade rider Warren Knevitt (85). An amazing 700 riders have now participated in one or more of the 23 rounds!

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). The venue on February 8 will be Fitzroy Street in front of huge crowds as part of the famous St Kilda Festival, with start times to be published shortly.

Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2004 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


Images by Mal Sawford


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 39 starters
1 Simon Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Joel Pearson (Warragul)
3 Todd Wilksch (Horsham)
4 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Soon Yong Choi (Korea)
6 Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 38 starters
1 Ken Ford (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Martin Bole (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Nick Gates (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Carlo Barendila (Western Australia)
5 Matt Jensen (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Cheryl Walker (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 48 starters
1 Simon Vandestadt (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Marcel Musco (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Michael Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Song Hee Han (Korea)
3 Min Hye Lee (Korea)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 22 starters
1 Brian Dew (Echuca)
2 Simon Shaw (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Brett McNally (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Chris Pulling (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Kasey Smith (Carnegie Caulfield) 

Local results 2004