Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Port Fairy CC

January 17, 2004

Once a sprinter, always a sprinter

By David Tozer

Local competitive cyclists proved that they are a determined breed by turning up to Saturday's Port Fairy Handicap Road Race. On a day where windfarms would have been working at full capacity mixed with the threat of sudden heavy rain, around 30 riders decided to test their skills and stamina.

First rider to face the elements was Dennis Lemke; he would have been aware that the windy conditions would favour the groups behind him and that he would have to put in a stellar ride to stay away from the chasing pack.

The next group to start left some eight minutes after the limit marker; Wal Paton and Heather Campbell headed the second limit bunch. Only a minute later the group containing John Jenkins set off in hot pursuit. Another group began a further minute back, containing Neil Duncan and Rob Urquart led the next group to leave some three minutes later.

Next to depart was the strong group led by Matt Kane and Terry Sketcher; this bunch had a five minute start on the scratch bunch and would have been aware that if they worked well together they were a good chance for victory.

At the rear of the race Jade Frankel and Brian McNamara knew they once again had their work cut out if the scratch group was to be amongst the place-getters.

As is normally the case in the 'Out and Back' Port Fairy circuit, all riders had a much better idea of their position as they past the other groups at the turnaround. It appeared as though the limit bunches were in with a show as the scratch groups had not made enough ground to be in contention. Nevertheless, it was a gesture of great sportsmanship to hear Matt Kane calling out words of encouragement to the scratch group as they headed in opposite directions.

The front runners must have wondered what had hit them when the five minute group engulfed the field, once this happened it became obvious that the winner would come from this bunch. The usual jockeying for positions was somewhat negated by the extended wind up of Wayne Collins. Collins called on all of his sprinting experience to over power the pack and record a well deserved victory.

John Jenkins and Neil Duncan did extremely well to take second and third respectively leaving Matt Kane just out of a podium position in fourth.

Wednesday night, Summer criteriums have started again, graded races begin at 6.30, in front of the St. Pat's Primary School in Port Fairy. All other details about races and training rides can be found on the Port Fairy Cyclintg Club's new web site at:


1 W.Collins
2 J.Jenkins
3 N.Duncan
4 M.Kane
5 R.Urquart
6 T.Sketcher
7 J.Blair
8 D.Tozer
9 J.Frankel
10 B.McNamara
Fastest time: D.Tozer 45.40

Local results 2004