Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield CC

Sandown Raceway, Mulgrave, VIC, January 13, 2004

By Mal Sawford

Soon Yong Choi leads the chase
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
Doug Reynolds leads B Grade
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
The C Grade break
Photo ©: Mal Sawford
The C Grade bunch
Photo ©: Mal Sawford

Despite many of the Elite A Grade riders resting up ahead of the Australian Open Championships at the end of the week, close to 200 riders contested this week's racing at the testing Sandown International Motor Raceway. Making an appearance were members of the Korean National Team, who had arrived in town too late to secure rides in last week's Jayco Bay Classic, but are now being chaperoned by members of the Team MGZT squad.

Windy conditions made things tough; a block head wind down the long main straight and a tail wind blast along the climb up the back straight. The A Grade race was decided in the opening lap when a break of five riders jumped clear and was never headed. Paul Richards (Team MG-ZT), who had made a habit of forcing the pace early in the A Grade support races at the Bay Classic, kicked things off and was quickly joined by local riders Anthony Smith (Gran Prix), Warren Knevitt (O'Mara Cycles) and Jason Pastor.

Kyung Bang Song, who consistently out-sprinted Brett Aitken at the Tour of Korea, also jumped across, and with his horsepower the break rapidly pulled away from the chasing bunch. With the bunch regularly losing momentum entering the main straight, a number of small groups attempted to bridge without success, but each was monitored by one of Song's team mates.

At the finish, Song proved too strong, taking the win ahead of Richards, Smith and Knevitt. Despite not hearing the bell signifying the final lap, Soon Yong Choi powered away at the head of the main field and was rewarded with the final prize, with none strong enough to pass the Korean in the headwind.

A late break stole the major prizes from the strong B Grade field, with Biggin & Scott (the Club's major Sponsor) director Dennis Bowen-Day (Gran Prix) escaping with training partners Karl Wood and Paralympic Champion Peter Homann in the final laps.

The trio finished in that order, with the bunch led home by visiting West Australian Carlo Barendila ahead of ex pat Andrew ‘Blackie' Blackmore. Swiss Champion Priska Doppman, a regular visitor during the summer months, led home a strong international Women's field including Caroline James (Great Britain) and Miyoko Karami (Japan).

Promising junior Alex Smyth earned promotion to B Grade with a good win in the mammoth C Grade bunch. Smyth lead a break clear at the thirty minute mark, and then out-sprinted companions Harry Fricke, Richard Cormick, Tony McGarrigle and Dale Weston at the finish. The Korean Women made their impression on the field, with Song Hee Han taking out the women's division ahead of Min Hye Lee and Australian Junior Champion Lisa Friend (Bianchi).

The D Grade race splintered in the windy conditions, making things tough for judges to follow the leaders! Sense was made in time for the finish, where Simon Shaw took his first win ahead of Ross Hamilton, and first time riders Chris Menesis and Rick Reynolds. Louise Judd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) claimed her first win in the Women's division, leading home Celia Vandestadt. Simon Lancaster maintained his lead in the $7000 Team Alex Criterium Series. The youngster is still clear on 98 points, while Cheryl Walker leads the Women and is outright second on 91 from Ferne Walklate on 83. The leading A Grade riders is Warren Knevitt with 75 points in sixth place overall.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). The Club apologizes for the unexpected road works which prevented racing last Sunday, but the resurfacing is now complete and the circuit promises to be faster than ever!

Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2004 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 33 starters
1 Kyung Bang Song (Korea)
2 Paul Richards (Coburg)
3 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Warren Knevitt (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Jason Pastor (Carnegie Caulfield)
6 Soon Yong Choi (Korea)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 59 starters
1 Dennis Bowen-Day (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Karl Wood (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Peter Homann (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Carlo Barendila (Western Australia)
5 Andrew Blackmore (Queensland)
1st woman: Priska Doppman (Switzerland)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 63 starters
1 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Harry Fricke (Hawthorn)
3 Richard Cormick (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Tony McGarrigle (Noble Park-Dandenong)
1st woman: Women Song Hee Han (Korea)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 36 starters
1 Simon Shaw (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Ross Hamilton (Blackburn)
3 Chris Menesis (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Rick Reynolds (Carnegie Caulfield)
1st woman: Louisa Judd (Carnegie Caulfield) 

Local results 2004