Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club

Sandown Raceway, Mulgrave, January 6, 2004

Carnegie Caulfield's first twilight race for the New Year saw the optimists rewarded; persistent afternoon drizzle and overcast skies and the forecast of rain threatened a wash out, but the track stayed dry and racing was unaffected. With the Jayco Geelong Bay Classic kicking off the following morning, many of the leading men and women riders were resting, allowing a few new names to appear in the results list.

Jonathan Clarke (SBR), one of the big hitters not riding the Bay Classic, and Leigh De Luca (Specialized), fresh from his top 10 finish in the rich Launceston Criterium, were the two main threats in A Grade. Jonny kicked off the early attack along with Paul Kelly (SBR) and Anthony Smith (Gran Prix Bicycles), but the smaller than usual bunch worked well to bring things back together.

The remainder of the race followed something of a pattern: Clarke would attack, a handful of riders would follow or bridge across, only for Justin Davis (O'Mara Cycles) to wind up on the front of the bunch and pull things back together. A solo attack from Mark Howard (O'Mara Cycles) just before the final three laps didn't attract much attention, until his solid effort saw him still clear with two laps to go. The resulting acceleration saw five riders go clear in pursuit, with Clarke joined by Smith, Jamie Nicholson, Davis and Shane Stiles. This group overtook the lone leader, and survived to the finish, where Smith, a new Club member, took a narrow win ahead of Clarke and Nicholson.

Martin Bole was the main protagonist in B Grade, producing a number of strong attacks which suggest a return to A Grade is not far away. His final effort, accompanied by Roger Byrnes and Vito Depetro, was swallowed up on the final trip up the back straight climb, bringing the field together for a bunch sprint. Peter O'Callaghan (Croydon Cycles) proved quickest, leading out early and holding off the charge by Darren Cathie and Andrew Blackmore, with James Shepherdson keeping Biggin & Scott Director Dennis Bowen-Day out of the prize money.

Bunch sprints also decided the results of the C and D Grade races, with the C Grade race won convincingly by Michael Sneyd in his first outing on the circuit. Luke Sproson followed home in second, ahead of Alex Smyth, and Michael Downing (Le Tour Cycles) - an outstanding result for the Under 15 rider. Sister Tess Downing (Le Tour) claimed her first win since her recent promotion to C Grade, ahead of Gemma Goyne (BikeNOW) and Melissa Kah.

Leongatha junior Tim Murphy led home the peleton in the D Grade finish. Visiting South Australian junior Tiffany Cromwell was a close second, ahead of Ferne Walklate and Livia Gluchowska. Louisa Judd (Kathy Watt's Personal Training) also finished strongly in outright fifth in her best finish to date, and was unlucky miss out on the prizes in race dominated by the Women.

Simon Lancaster's long term lead is finally under threat in the $7000 Team Alex Criterium Series. The youngster is still clear on 96 points, while the promotion of Cheryl Walker to B Grade sees her jump to 91, and Ferne Walklate's move to C Grade puts her in third on 81. The leading A Grade riders are Warren Knevitt and Paul Kelly, still in contention with 69 points.

Carnegie Caulfield Criteriums continue every Sunday at Glenvale Crescent (Melways map 80B2). Twilight races are held on Tuesday evenings at Sandown racecourse, on the car racing circuit, with all grades starting at 6.30pm. Entry is via Sandown Rd, from 5.30pm.

All holders of 2004 Cycling Australia licenses are welcome (don't forget to bring your license or receipt!) and non-members can have a go by taking out a day license for $20. For first time competitors and the younger juniors, Tokyo Olympian Mick Hollingsworth conducts racing clinics in E Grade. For further details, including information and standings for the Team Alex series, check out


A Grade, 1 hour + 3 laps, 26 starters   
1 Anthony Smith (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Jonathan Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Jamie Nicholson (Chelsea & Peninsula)
4 Justin Davis (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Shane Stiles (Warragul)
6 Leigh De Luca (Carnegie Caulfield)
B Grade, 1 hour + 2 laps, 38 starters   
1 Peter O'Callaghan (Brunswick)
2 Darren Cathie (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Andrew Blackmore (Queensland)
4 James Shepherdson (Carnegie Caulfield)
5 Dennis Bowen-Day (Carnegie Caulfield)
C Grade, 50 minutes + 2 laps, 48 starters   
1 Michael Sneyd (St Kilda)
2 Luke Sproson (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Alex Smyth (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Michael Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Tess Downing (Carnegie Caulfield)
2 Gemma Goyne (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Melissa Kah (Carnegie Caulfield)
D Grade, 45 minutes + 2 laps, 24 starters   
1 Tim Murphy (Leongatha)
2 Tiffany Cromwell (South Australia)
3 Ferne Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield)
4 Livia Gluchowska (Carnegie Caulfield)
1 Tiffany Cromwell (South Australia)
2 Ferne Walklate (Carnegie Caulfield)
3 Livia Gluchowska (Carnegie Caulfield)

Local results 2003