Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra Cycle Club

NSW, January 4, 2004

The Jones boy again

Peter Jones timed his sprint just right last Sunday to narrowly win the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club scratch race last Sunday.

A bunch of 9 riders started the 27.5 km elite A-grade event race with everyone having the form and chance for a win. World Master Sprint Silver Medalist Grant Law had made the step up to A-grade after a return to training and form after a recent win in the lower grade. Also making an appearance was local rider Seth Collins who spends much of the year racing for the 1st division Spanish Alfus-Tedes team. David Young from Bankstown was also one to watch in his first race with the club.

Things started fairly sedately with each rider taking a turn in setting the pace, happy to bide their time and assess their competition. The first attack came near the end of the first lap with Tim Morris going clear. On his capture other riders then tried their luck with plenty of attacks from Collins, Luke Dale, Steve Franklin and Graham Rutter. A split in the bunch occurred at half distance with Law, Dale and Frank Tortorici finding themselves at the wrong end of the bike race. A strong turn by Dale brought them back up to the leaders, but Law couldn't match their pace.

On the last lap there were constant attacks with Collins and Young riding very strongly. But as the finish approached the bunch remained intact awaiting the final sprint. Young started the lead out at 300 metres with Morris accelerating to a lead at 200 metres. As the line approached Peter Jones timed his run perfectly to win by mere centimeters as both riders literally threw their bikes at the line.

With sixteen very evenly matched riders in the A1 grade race it was always going to be hard for anyone to get away but that didn't stop them from trying. Gil Rutty, Brian Joyce, Gavin Drury and Darren Toms were able to get a small gap on the first lap but they were quickly brought back by some determined riding from Daniel Silveri, Tony Pulo and Jeff Gray.

Gray was probably the hardest worker during the race, overall the workload was shared between Michael Comensoli, Joe Periera, Tony Stephenson and the other riders mentioned. Richard Lorenc did some big turns on the last half lap. The whole bunch was still together as they approached the finish. Rutty was just too strong for Toms with Silveri third.

Thirteen riders started and finished the B-grade race together but it was Jason Johnson who rolled across the line first.

Most of the riders pulled strong turns to keep the pace high. Although a few riders tried to gap the bunch there was always someone willing to bring them back. Dave Russell put in a huge turn in the final few kilometres towing the bunch back to the final kilometre.

In the end it came down to a bunch sprint which saw a late charge by Johnson take the win from Warren Poole and Scott Turnbull.

The C-grade event was well supported with ten riders rolling away at the start. The pace was kept high by the Vince O'Dwyer team consisting of Peter Vesel, Dave Morris, Roger Philips and David Hull. The four domestiques worked the front of the race until the final kilometre where O'Dwyer made his move and led the field home ahead of Belinda Scott and Carlo Piola.

Next week's race is a handicap with group 7 marshalling.


A Grade - 27.0km
1 Peter Jones (Illawarra)        38.36
2 Tim Morris (Illawarra)              
3 David Young (Bankstown)             
4 Seth Collins (Sutherland Shire)     
5 Graham Rutter (Hinchinbrook)        
6 Steve Franklin (Illawarra)      0.06
7 Luke Dale (Illawarra)           0.14
8 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)     0.44
9 Keith Bennett (Illawarra)       3.27
10 Grant Law (Illawarra)          4.43
A - 1 Grade - 27.0km
1 Gil Rutty (Illawarra)          40.58
2 Darren Toms (Illawarra)             
3 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)          
4 Tony Pulo (Illawarra)               
5 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)            
6 Brett Jones (Penrith Panthers)      
7 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)            
8 Michael Comensoli (Illawarra)       
9 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)          
10 Gavin Drury (Illawarra)            
11 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)      0.11
12 Garry Doughty (Illawarra)      0.21
13 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)            
14 Tony Stephenson (Waratah Vets)     
DNF Alex Verdi (Illawarra)            
B Grade - 27.0km
1 Jason Johnson (Illawarra)      42.05
2 Warren Poole (Illawarra)            
3 Scott Turnbull (Illawarra)          
4 Philip Jones (Illawarra)            
5 Craig Dinning (Illawarra)           
6 Emma Ringer (Illawarra)             
7 Patrick Delahunty (Illawarra)       
8 Mitchell Harris (Illawarra)         
9 Peter Evans (Illawarra)             
10 Fiona Campbell (Illawarra)         
11 Tim Devlin (Illawarra)             
12 Micheal Kejda (Illawarra)          
13 David Russell (Illawarra)          
C Grade - 27.0km
1 Vincent O`Dwyer (Illawarra)    45.48
2 Belinda Scott (Illawarra)           
3 Carlo Paiola (Marconi)              
4 Jenny Davis (Illawarra)         0.12
5 Mark Davis (Illawarra)              
6 Roger Phillips (Illawarra)          
7 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)             
8 David Morris (Illawarra)        0.31
9 Andrew Telford (Illawarra)          
DNF David Hull (Illawarra)            

Local results 2003