Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Australia

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Illawarra CC

September 6, 2003

Stagg stages a victory

Jonathan Stagg won the Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club monthly handicap race over 41.5 kilometres. In his best performance is his short racing career Stagg finished 30 seconds ahead of fastmen Craig Williams and Danny Hennessy.

The race which took the riders over the steep side of Marshall Mount on the first lap saw the remains of the limit bunch, Greg Fisher and new rider Daniel Silveri just holding off the combined 9 & 11 minute groups of Morris, Kelly, Stephenson, Burke, Ciccorelli and Vesel. At the end of lap one Scratch had closed the gap from 13 minutes to just 4 minutes and 20 seconds.

In the 18 kilometres of the final lap scratch pulled back the 4:20 but hadn't accounted for Stagg who had bolted for the finish in the last few kilometres for a well deserved victory.

There will be no Illawarra racing next week as it is the final round of the Interclub series on Saturday on the Goulburn course starting at the Gunning end at 2:00 pm.


1 Jonathan Stagg (Illawarra)
2 Craig Williams (Illawarra)
3 Danny Hennessy (Canberra)
4 Jose Pereira (Illawarra)
5 Adam Rourke (Illawarra)
6 Tony Burke (Illawarra)
7 Tony Stephenson (Waratah Vets)
8 Dean Kelly (Nowra)
9 Rob Calladine (Illawarra)
10 Richard Lorenc (Illawarra)
11 Greg Fisher (Illawarra)
12 Dave Morris (Illawarra)
13 Daniel Silveri (Illawarra)
14 Dean Marcinkowski (Illawarra)
15 Frank Tortorici (Illawarra)
16 Jeffrey Gray (Illawarra)
17 Brian Joyce (Illawarra)
18 Marco Ciccarelli (Illawarra)
19 Austin Pitman (Illawarra)
20 Peter Vesel (Illawarra)
DNF Steve Franklin (Illawarra)
DNF Peter Jones (Illawarra)
DNF Adrian Cooper (Illawarra)
DNF Gavin Drury (Illawarra)
DNF David Russell (Illawarra)



Australian results from the past week

Carnegie Caulfield CC
Central Coast CC
Norwood CC
V&LCC Richard Hicks Memorial


Complete Australian results for 2003