Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Norwegian Championships - CN

Bergen Norway, June 26-29, 2008

National Champs summary    2007 results     Stage List     Preview    Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - June 26: TT junior men/junior women/ Elite women , 10/20.4/29.4km
  • Stage 2 - June 27: TT Elite men, 50km
  • Stage 3 - June 28: RR junior men/junior women/ Elite women , 114/47.5/76km
  • Stage 4 - June 29: Elite Men RR, 199.5km

Wide open race in countries west

By Paul Verkuylen

Over recent years the cycling scene in Norway has grown thanks to the success of riders like Thor Hushovd (Crédit Agricole) and Kurt Asle Arvesen (Team CSC Saxo Bank). Now this small nation of barely five million people has three professional squads and a handful of riders racing for ProTour teams.

Taking place in Bergen in the west coast of the country, this years national championships will be a hotly contested event as Asle Arversen and Hushovd take on the rest of the country in an attempt to take their national jersey to the Tour.

The Joker Bianchi team has the defending champion, Alexander Kristoff still in its ranks and they will prove tough to beat. Both Kristoff and Joachim Bøhler (Joker Bianchi) have had some recent success in their home tour, while Bøhler also won a stage 2 of Olympia's Tour in the Netherlands so watch out for them if it comes down to a sprint.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (High Road) has been progressing well this season and rode strongly at the recent Tour of Switzerland, so he may come to the title with some strong form.

The favorite for the title though would have to be Hushovd, who has been strong all season and the course will suit him. With just one team-mate, Gabriel Rasch, he will definitely have his work cut out for him.

Past winners

2007 Alexander Kristoff (Stavanger SK / Team Maxbo Bianchi)
2006 Lars Petter Nordhaug (Tønsberg Ck/team Maxbo Bianchi)
2005 Morten Christiansen (CK Bjørgvin/Team Sparebanken Vest)
2004 Thor Hushovd (Crédit Agricole/Ringerike SK)
2003 Gabriel Rasch (Ringerike SK/Team Ringerike)
2002 Kurt Asle Arvesen (EDS-Fakta/Nesset CK)
2001 Kurt Asle Arvesen (Sandnes SK/Team Fakta)
2000 Sveln Gaute Hölestöl (Sandnes SK/Gerolsteiner)
1999 Svein Gaute Hølestøl (Chicky World/Sandnes)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,