Tuesday 9 October - 13:00 - Espoirs TT - 33.7 km

Live report     Results    Profile & start list    Previous race    Next race

Pate wins Espoirs world title

By Jeff Jones
Click for larger image
Danny Pate
Photo: © Sirotti

Danny Pate has given the USA its first gold medal in this year's World Championships, taking out the 33.7 kilometre individual time trial for Espoirs (U23) men. Pate finished 38 seconds quicker than German Sebastian Lang, with second wave rider James Perry (South Africa) weathering the storm to take the bronze medal, one second behind Lang.

The 16.7 km parcours, to be completed twice, was one of the toughest World's courses for several years. Most riders suffered on the second lap, although a fast start was important. James Perry, one of the early second wave riders, rode the first lap in 23:15, maintaining a good rhythm on the second lap which he completed in 23:53 - an overall time of 47:08.70. Despite the relatively slow average speed (< 43 km/h), Perry's time held throughout the second wave, with riders such as Vladimir Goussev (Rus), Michele Scarponi (Ita) and Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) all falling short.

Once the third wave started, it was Danny Pate who found his legs by the end of the first lap. A noted tester against the clock, Pate rode lap one in 22:58, backing that up with 23:31 on the second lap to smash Perry's time, which at that point had only been bettered by one second by Sebastian Lang (Ger).

Pate, Lang and Perry formed the final podium, as the more fancied time trialists such as Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel), Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) and Manuel Quinziato (Ita) lost time at every check. The only danger seemed to be Portuguese Sergio Paulinho, who was within 27 seconds of Pate at 21.5 kilometres, but fell off the pace to eventually finish 5th.

Pate, a Colorado native, is no 'bolt from the blue'. This year the Prime Alliance rider has won the Triptyque Ardennais (Belgium) and Four Bridges of Elgin (USA), finished second in the U23 Tour of Flanders (Belgium), second in the Tour of Willamette (USA) and third in the Volta Ciclista a Catalunya de L'Avenir (Spain). 22 year old Pate is a multiple US national champion and today he beat the world's best U23 riders in the race of truth.


Manuel Quinziato (Italy) - warms up for the U23 Men's TT
Michele Scarponi (Italy) - with Antonio Fusi
Michele Scarponi - warms up
Michele Scarponi - rides
Antonio D'Aniello - rides
Yaroslav Popyvych - rides
Manuel Quinziato - rides
Danny Pate (USA) - smiles with his gold medal
The podium - Sebastian Lang, Danny Pate and James Perry


1 Danny Pate (USA)                    46.29.35 (43.49 km/h)
2 Sebastian Lang (Ger)                 0.38.35
3 James Perry (RSA)                    0.39.35
4 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr)              0.52.92
5 Sergio Paulinho (Por)                0.56.68
6 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel)              1.02.58
7 Markus Fothen (Ger)                  1.03.70
8 Michele Scarponi (Ita)               1.32.40
9 Manuel Quinziato (Ita)               1.37.67
10 Vladimir Goussev (Rus)              1.46.68
11 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr)                1.48.04
12 Kevin De Weert (Bel)                1.54.96
13 Alexandre Bespalov (Rus)            1.57.20
14 Hernani Broco (Por)                 2.03.75
15 Gustav Larsson (Swe)                2.09.14
16 Gregor Gazvoda (Slo)                2.11.13
17 Luis Felipe Laverde Jimenez (Col)   2.20.58
18 Lukasz Bodnar (Pol)                 2.28.17
19 Jorge Garcia Marin (Spa)            2.31.22
20 Michael Creed (USA)                 2.37.62
21 Markel Irizar Aranburu (Spa)        2.41.90
22 Antonio D'aniello (Ita)             3.01.78
23 Mark Scanlon (Irl)                  3.03.11
24 Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)                 3.12.38
25 Sandro Güttinger (Swi)              3.26.33
26 Matija Kotnik (Slo)                 3.36.05
27 Christophe Kern (Fra)               3.36.88
28 Benoït Vaugrenard (Fra)             3.38.21
29 Markus Joho (Swi)                   3.47.37
30 Mark Louwers (Ned)                  3.56.21
31 Ladislav Fabisovsky (Cze)           4.08.29
32 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin)               4.12.69
33 Lars Ytting Bak (Den)               4.17.68
34 Denis Shkarpeta (Uzb)               4.26.91
35 Ioannis Tamouridis (Gre)            4.30.01
36 Alexandr Kazlov (Blr)               4.30.48
37 Carlos Andres Ibanez Gonzalez (Col  4.31.76
38 Martin Gratzer (Aut)                4.40.88
39 Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz)              4.41.27
40 Mikko Vastaranta (Fin)              4.52.62
41 Denis Lynch (Irl)                   4.56.33
42 Markku Ainsalu (Est)                5.07.22
43 Zoltan Csomor (Hun)                 6.00.96
44 Per Martin Lund (Nor)               6.04.80
45 Moises Aldape Chavez (Mex)          6.22.24
46 Lars Breiseth (Nor)                 6.29.51
47 David Salomon (Mex)                 6.46.74
48 Takashi Tsumuraya (Jpn)             7.48.43
49 Tomoya Sato (Jpn)                   8.56.34
50 Andrey Medyannikov (Kaz)            9.35.42
DNF Zoltan Madaras (Hun)
DNF Aivaras Baranauskas (Ltu)
DNS Petter Renäng (Swe)

To the top ::      Back ::