snowy mountains



Map & Profile


4th Canberra World Cup

Canberra, Australia, March 10, 2001

2000 results    Start list    Past winners


Click for larger image

The Australian capital city of Canberra will host the opening round of the Women's World Cup this season. 75 riders from 14 countries and 15 teams will contest the event, which is conducted over 20 laps of a 5.1 kilometre circuit. The course is unique in that it passes by many of the international embassies and high commissions that are located in Canberra. Containing two small climbs, it is generally not considered to be selective, however there are many opportunities for stronger riders to escape.

Many of the international women have now found their legs coming off the tough five day Tour de Snowy, and the race is certainly not a lay down misere for defending champion Anna Millward (Wilson). The Saturn rider has won this race both times that it has been staged in Canberra, and will be looking to repeat it in 2001. Her three rider team will be 100 percent dedicated to helping her achieve that, and she wants to continue her run right through the World Cup series.

The Italian GAS Sport team are considered to be major contenders, with the likes of World Champion Zinaida Stahurskaia, 5-time Olympian Roberta Bonanomi, and Italian Champion Gabriella Pregnolato. The number one women's team in the world, Acca Due O-Hewlett Packard-Lorena Camiche, is also here with four team members, all extremely capable riders. Swiss Priska Doppmann is in excellent form, as is Mirjam Melchers who won a stage of the Tour de Snowy. Giovanna Troldi is always a danger in a bunch sprint, and Vera Hohlfeld should provide good support.

Carpe Diem-Itera are here to improve their form and fitness for a tough year ahead. Italian Sigrid Corneo and American Lara Ruthven are probably their best chances. Team Alfa Lum has brought a mixed nationality team, with World TT Champion Mari Holden their leader, with Sara Felloni, Fany Lecourtois, and Tatiana Stiajkina potentially dangerous. has Kiwi Sarah Ulmer as their main hope should the race come to a bunch sprint, and she is certainly able to give the good sprinters a run for their money. Of these, the Australian Institute of Sport has two in Rochelle Gilmore and Alison Wright, and they are extremely motivated riders on home ground.

Liz Tadich, Australian champion Katie Mactier, and Tasmanian sprinter Naomi Williams will lead the charge for Jayco-VIS, while Team New Zealand's main hope will be Rosalind Reekie-May. There are several more Australian teams (Regional, City Cycles Melbourne,, Bicisport and NSWIS-Trek), and Kate Bates is probably the standout rider for NSWIS.

The race begins at 9:00am, and finishes at approximately 11:45. Will this year be the first that the Canberra World Cup doesn't end in a bunch sprint?

Start list

Saturn-Timex                  GAS Sport
1 Anna Millward (Aus)         5 Gabriella Pregnolato (Ita)
2 Kristy Scrymgeour (Aus)     6 Roberta Bonanomi (Ita)
3 Anke Erlank (RSA)           7 Zinaida Stahurskaia (Bel)
4 Kimberly Bruckner (USA)     8 Silvia Parietti (Ita)
Acca Due O-H.P.               Carpe Diem-Itera
9 Priska Doppmann (Swi)       13 Ljudmila Corneo (Ita)
10 Vera Hohlfeld (Ger)        14 Sigrid Corneo (Ita)
11 Mirjam Melchers (Ned)      15 Vera Carrara (Ita)
12 Giovanna Troldi (Ita)      16 Luisana Pegoraro (Ita)
                              17 Kerry Hellmuth (USA)
                              18 Lara Ruthven (USA)                Alfa Lum R.S.M.
19 Sarah Ulmer (NZl)          24 Mari Holden (USA)
20 Susy Pryde (NZl)           25 Sara Felloni (Ita)
21 Annie Gariepy (Can)        26 Fany Lecourtois (Fra)
22 Kim Smith (USA)            27 Tatiana Stiajkina (Ukr)
23 Pam Shuster (USA)
Australian Institute of Sport Japan Cycling Federation
28 Sara Carrigan (Aus)        34 Kanako Nishi (Jpn)
29 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus      35 Miho Oki (Jpn)
30 Hayley Rutherford (Aus)    36 Mutsumi Fugino (Jpn)
31 Kim Shirley (Aus)
32 Karen Sumpton (Aus)
33 Alison Wright (Aus)
Jayco VIS                     New Zealand
37 Elizabeth Tadich (Aus)     43 Rosalind Reekie-May (NZl)
38 Katie Mactier (Aus)        44 Vanessa Cheatley (NZl)
39 Jessica Amy (Aus)          45 Melissa Holt (NZl)
40 Naomi Williams (Aus)       46 Kirsty Robb (NZl)
41 Helen Kelly (Aus)          47 Nora Moeke (NZl)                City Cycles Melbourne
48 Victoria Kirkby (Aus)      54 Julie Hooper (Aus)
49 Emma Rickards (Aus)        55 Louisa Hamilton-White (Aus)
50 Alex Harrison (Aus)        56 Sue McCarthy (Aus)
51 Rebecca Cleveland (Aus)    57 Mary Rogers (Aus)
52 Katie Knight (Aus)
53 Rebecca McConnell (Aus)
NSWIS Trek Team               Australian Regional
58 Natalie Bates (Aus)        64 Erin Philp (Aus)
59 Kate Bates (Aus)           65 Rebecca Locke (Aus)
60 Mary Grigson (Aus)         66 Sophie Freshwater (Aus)
61 Emma James (Aus)           67 Jeanette Schwarz (Aus)
62 Olivia Gollan (Aus)        68 Tania Shipton (Aus)
63 Oenone Wood (Aus)          
69 Natasha Harrigan (Aus)
70 Jennifer Manefield (Aus)
71 Simone Poulos (Aus)
72 Bridget Evans (Aus)
73 Julia Busquets
74 Liz Young (Aus)

Past winners


2000 Anna Wilson (Aus) 102 kms in 2.45.43 (36.93 km/h)
1999 Anna Wilson (Aus) 102 kms in 2.46.37 (36.73 km/h)


1998 Dede Demet (USA) 100 kms in 2.35.53 (38.49 km/h)

back to top