37th Six Days of Bremen - 6D

Germany, January 11-16, 2001

2000 Results    Preview    Start list    Past Winners



The European six day season resumes after its Christmas break with the 37th running of the "Bremer Sechstagerennen". Commencing on January 11 in Bremen's Stadthalle, race director Patrick Sercu has attracted a 12 team field that includes German national champion, Rolf Aldag. His partner is Silvio Martinello and the pair are expected to be amongst the top teams.

Swiss dynamic duo, Bruno Risi and Kurt Betschart will be riding together, while Scott McGrory will partner Matthew Gilmore again. The latter two have been keeping their engines ticking over during the Tasmanian Christmas carnival series and will at least have some racing kilometres in their legs. World madison champions Stephan Steinweg and Erik Weisspfennig will also feature in Bremen.

There are some other interesting partnerships: Marco Villa (Ita)/Guido Fulst (Ger), Adriano Baffi (Ita)/Juan Llaneras (Spa), and Etienne Dewilde (Bel)/Jimmi Madsen (Den). Last year's winner, Andreas Kappes will be racing with Andreas Beikirch.

The official starter on January 11 will be the great Eddy Merckx - winner of 17 six day races himself, and 15 with Patrick Sercu.

Start List

Stephan Steinweg/Erik Weisspfennig (Ger)

Scott McGrory (Aus)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel)

Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)

Etienne Dewilde (Bel)/Jimmi Madsen (Den)

Andreas Beikirch/Andreas Kappes (Ger)

Rolf Aldag (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita)

Marco Villa (Ita)/Guido Fulst (Ger)

Adriano Baffi (Ita)/Juan Llaneras (Spa)

Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned)

Mario Vonhof/Gerd Dörich (Ger)

Lorenzo Lapage (Bel)/Lars Teutenberg (Ger)

Frank Corvers (Bel)/Jens Lehmann (Ger)

Past Winners

2000 Silvio Martinello (Ita)/Andreas Kappes (Ger)

1999 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)

1998 Jens Veggerby/Jimmi Madsen (Den)

1997 Andreas Kappes/Carsten Wolf (Ned)

1996 Marco Villa/Silvio Martinello (Ita)

1995 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)

1994 Andy Kappes/Danny Clark (Ned/Aus)

1993 Urs Freuler/Peter Pieters (Swi/Ned)

1992 Andy Kappes/Etienne de Wilde (Ger/Bel)

1991 Andy Kappes/Etienne de Wilde (Ger/Bel)

1990 Danny Clark/Roland Günther (Aus/Ger)

1989 Andy Kappes/R. Hermann (Ger/Lei)

1988 Danny Clark/Tony Doyle (Aus/GBr)

1987 Dietrich Thurau/Danny Clark (Ger/Aus)

1986 Dietrich Thurau/Josef Kristen (Ger)

1985 Garry Wiggins/Tony Doyle (Aus/GBr)

1984 Albert Fritz/Dietrich Thurau (Ger)

1983 Gregor Braun/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)

1982 Albert Fritz/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)

1981 Gregor Braun/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)

1980 Albert Fritz/Patrick Sercu (Ger/Bel)

1979 Danny Clark/Rene Pijnen (Aus/Ned)

1978 Albert Fritz/Wilfried Peffgen (Ger)

1977 Albert Fritz/Wilfried Peffgen (Ger)

1976 Günter Haritz/Rene Pijnen (Ger/Ned)

1975 Patrick Sercu/Rene Pijnen (Bel/Ned)

1974 Leo Duyndam/Rene Pijnen (Ned)

1973 Dieter Kemper/Graeme Gilmore (Ger/Aus)

1972 Wolfgang Schulze/Sigi Renz (Ger)

1971 Rudi Altig/Albert Fritz (Ger)

1970 Peter Post/Patrick Sercu (Ned/Bel)

1969 Peter Post/Patrick Sercu (Ned/Bel)

1968 Rudi Altig/Sigi Renz (Ger)

1967 Peter Post/Fritz Pfenninger (Ned/Swi)

1966 Rudi Altig/Dieter Kemper (Ger)

1965 Rik van Steenbergen/Palle Lykke (Bel/Den)