37th Six Days of Bremen - 6D

Germany, January 11-16, 2001

Main Page    Previous Day

Day 6 - January 16

McGrory/Gilmore in last gasp victory

The 37th edition of the Bremen Six Days came down to the last sprint, with six teams finishing on the same lap. In an amazing finsh, the duo of Scott McGrory and Matthew Gilmore won the overall classification by a solitary point, after winning the very last sprint.

For most of the past six days, the leading team has been Andreas Kappes and Andreas Beikirch. But they faltered in the final madison, shortly before midnight on January 16 as McGrory and Gilmore came from behind.

Both McGrory and Gilmore have won three six day races now, and they couldn't believe how this one came about. "I wanted to win here for four years," said McGrory. "The crowd is simply crazy here. It was fantastic that we could get the victory."

Gilmore was also beside himself: "It's an amazing feeling that my name is up there with riders like Kappes, Danny Clark or Doyle. It is a huge honour."

Nearly 130,000 spectators watched the race over the six days, making the most popular Bremen Six ever.


Final standings

1 Scott McGrory (Aus)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel)            421 pts
2 Rolf Aldag (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita)             420
3 Andreas Beikirch/Andreas Kappes (Ger)                409
4 Adriano Baffi (Ita)/Juan Llaneras (Spa)              391
5 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)                      367
6 Etienne De Wilde (Bel)/Jimmi Madsen (Den)            220

2 laps behind:

7 Marco Villa/Guido Fulst (Italien/Berlin)             229

6 laps behind:

8 Stefan Steinweg/Erik Weisswpfennig (Ger)             188

11 laps behind:

9 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Niederlande)             170

14 laps behind:

10 Andreas Beikirch/Andreas Kappes (Ger)	       152
11 Lorenzo Lapage (Bel)/Lars Teutenberg (Ger)          147
12 Frank Corvers (Bel)/Jens Lehmann (Ger)              135