3rd Grande Prémio M. R. Cortez/Mitsubishi - 2.5

Portugal, April 20-22, 2000

1999 Results    Stage details    Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - April 20: - Cacém-Massamá, 189.4 km
  • Stage 2 - April 21: - Pęro Pinheiro-Pęro Pinheiro, 121.6 km
  • Stage 3 - April 22: - Pęro Pinheiro-Cacém, 149.6 km

Stage details:

Stage 1

Negrais (km 23.9)
Lousa (km 33.6)
Terrugem (km 128.4)

Gradil (Cat. 3. km 57.4)
Igreja Nova (Cat. 3. km 113.9)
Cheleiros (Cat. 3. km 119.6)
Pé da Serra (Cat. 3. km 150.5)

Stage 2

Mafra (km 36)
Negrais (km 51.2)
São João das Lampas (km 102.9)

Ribeira dos Tostões (Cat. 3. km 49.2)
Igreja Nova (Cat. 3. km 115.5)
Pêro Pinheiro (Stage finish. Cat. 3. km 121.6)

Stage 3

Ericeira (km 62.8)
Mafra (km 77.2)
Várzea (km 101.9)

Cheleiros (Cat. 3. km 5)
Zambujal (Cat. 3. km 72.8)
Alvarinhos (Cat. 3. km 89.2)
Pena (Cat. 2. km 109.8)
Malveira da Serra (Cat. 3. km 129.3)


The Gran Premio Cortez/Mitsubishi is a three day event in Portugal, categorised UCI 2.5. 2000 marks the third edition of the race, which is fairly demanding in terms of terrain although not in terms of distance. Previous winners of the event are Spaniard Angel Edo and Russian Serguei Smetanine. The latter will be back this year, riding for Benfica to try and defend his title. Kelme will also be there in force, as well as Banesto, with Portuguese riders Cândido Barbosa and Orlando Rodrigues, as well as Russian Dennis Menchov as their main riders.

Other squads include Euskadi-Euskaltel, the 10 Portuguese professional teams, and the amateur outfits of Janotas & Simőes/Boavista, M. Rodrigues/Fonotel/Lourinhanense, Citroën Xsara/Conservas Cortizo and a Spanish national team.

The first day is the longest, 190 km between Cacém and Massamá, with four category 3 climbs to be tackled. The following day, April 21 is the shortest - a 121 kilometre circuit race starting and finishing in Pęro Pinheiro. Three more category 3 climbs, with the last two coming in the closing 10 kilometres.

The tour concludes with a tough 149.6 kilometre stage from Pęro Pinheiro to Cacém, with five category 2 and 3 climbs en route. Definitely not an easy run into the finish. Total distance is 460 kilometres with twelve climbs. Tactics will be critical for the potential winner, due to the race's relative shortness.

Thanks to the organisers for the stage and preview information

Past winners

1998    Angel Edo (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca
1999    Serguei Smetanine (Rus) Vitalicio Seguros