Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania Mountain Bike Championships - CC

Nelson, New Zealand, March 13-16, 2008

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 2 - March 13: Hill Climb

McCarthy and Clapp ascend to victories

Upper Hutt rider Gavin McCarthy logged another strong hill climb performance when he won the hill climb title on the first day of the UCI Oceania Mountainbike Championships in Nelson. He had finished second in the New Zealand Championships last month but was in top form clocking five minutes, 50 seconds for the 1.5km course with a 230m climb. Australian Ben Mather was runner-up, finishing four seconds behind the New Zealander with Dunedin's Tony Hogg a further eight seconds back in third.

Nelson's Brenda Clapp followed up her emphatic win in the national championship in Wellington with a dominant display to win the open women's grade. She clocked seven minutes, 43 seconds to win by 17 seconds from Hokitika's Cathy Hamer with Erin Greene of Dunedin close behind.

The junior men's honours went to Logan Horn (Christchurch) while Auckland's Sasha Smith won the junior women's category.

The hill climb course followed much of the first climb of the cross country course, but continued right through to the Centre of NZ summit.


Elite men

1 Gavin McCarthy     5.50
2 Ben Mather         0.04
3 Tony Hogg          0.12
4 Mark Williams      0.54
Elite women

1 Brenda Clapp       7.43
2 Cathy Hamer        0.17
3 Erin Greene        0.38

Junior men

1 Logan Horn         6.57
2 Nick Bygate        0.16
DNS Adrian Retief        
Junior women

1 Sasha Smith        8.24
2 Rachel Richards    0.11
3 Adrianne Hooper    0.21
Master Men

1 Trevor Woodward    6.30
2 Ricky Pincott      0.23
DNS Chris Gaze