Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania Mountain Bike Championships - CC

Nelson, New Zealand, March 13-16, 2008

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - March 13: Dual Slalom

Young Australian Buchanan impresses in women's dual slalom

Favorites crash in men's race

Brilliant Australian teenager Caroline Buchanan showed her class on the opening day of the UCI Oceania Mountainbike Championships in Nelson. The 17 year-old dominated the elite women's dual slalom, winning the final convincingly over Great Britain's Tracy Moseley. Buchanan is the current Australian elite mountain cross champion and was eighth in the world last year, as well as the Australian junior downhill champion.

Surprises came in the quarterfinals of the elite men's race when world ranked New Zealanders Justin Leov and Sam Blenkinsop both crashed out. Leov crashed with fellow Kiwi Michael Davis who managed to get up and run over the line to cause the upset. Blenkinsop also crashed out in his quarter final heat.

There was success for New Zealand with New Plymouth's Edward Masters taking out the men's final ahead of Australia's Tim Eaton with his brother Wyn Masters third.


Elite men

1 Edward Masters         
2 Tim Eaton              
3 Wyn Masters            
4 Michael Davis          
5 Justin Leov            
6 Sam Blinkinsop         
7 Hayden McGregor        
8 Matthew Scoles         
9 Nathan sharratt        
10 Daniel Melink         
11 Cameron Cole          
12 Sidney Slotegraaf     
13 Paul Whithan          
14 James Pritchard       
15 Bereud Boer           
16 Scott Bedford         
17 Reuben Miller         
18 Brice Laffin          
19 Joseph Allen          
DNS James Dodds          
DNS Nathan Ryder         
DNS Mike                 
Elite women

1 Caroline Buchanan      
2 Tracy Moseley          
3 Harriet Harper         
4 Amy Laird              
5 Tania Carson           
DNS Sarsha Huntington    
Junior men

1 Matt Walker            
2 Aari Barrett           
3 Rhys Willemse          
4 Brook MacDonald        
5 Sam Baker              
6 Baker Zach             
7 Josh Miller            
8 Reuben Olorenshaw      
9 Rasmus Tander          
10 Dylan Bennett         
11 Nick Bygate           
12 Nick O Roruke         
DNS Simon Barratt        

Master men

DNS Sean Cox             
DNS Randal Huntington