Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

National Mountain Bike Series #4 (NMBS) - 1

Deer Valley, Park City, Utah, June 27-29, 2008

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 17 - June 29: Elite Men Short Track

Kabush prevails in battle with Trebon

By Dave McElwaine in Park City, Utah

Canada's Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

Geoff Kabush (Maxxis) rode a tactically brilliant race to edge out Ryan Trebon (Kona) for the short track win at Deer Valley. Kabush always seems to conserve energy by allowing others to lead, but will go to the front any time he senses that chasers are making headway.

Trebon, after winning the cross country race on Saturday, continued to show good form in the short track. A few laps into the race he attacked, and only Kabush was able to respond. However as they later slowed, a surging Jeremiah Bishop (Trek / VW) joined in the melee at the front.

Behind them Sam Schultz (Subaru/Gary Fisher) was riding a brilliant race in fourth place followed by team-mate Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski. However, JHK began to suffer cramps but held on for an eighth place finish.

Carl Decker (Giant) may have had the ride of the day. He moved from far back in the pack to finish third. "Lane selection at the start is important but it was not good today on the right side. There was a big pile-up on the first corner that I got caught up in."

Ryan Trebon (Kona) attacks
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

As the pace increased, Bishop lost contact with the leaders. Trebon led Kabush through the start/finish on the bell lap, but Kabush attacked soon thereafter for the win. Kabush said, "I just tried to be patient because I knew I could carry more speed on the uphills. I wanted to just wait until the last lap to make a full power acceleration."

"That one effort Geoff put in (mid race) really put me under and that's why I fell behind a bit," remarked Trebon after the race before adding, "They slowed down and I attacked...one lap too early and Geoff brought me back. When he attacked (on the final lap) I didn't have any acceleration left."

How it unfolded

Kabush won the start but had a bobble on the first climb that led to a pile-up with Ross Schnell (Trek/VW) and many others behind him.

By the second lap Troy Wells (Tokyo Joe's) surged to the lead closely followed by Kabush and Trebon. At the 180 degree turn on the uphill, Trebon attacked and took the lead. Only Kabush was able to respond.

Jeremiah Bishop (Trek/VW)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

On lap three Trebon and Kabush had a gap, but behind them Sam Schultz, Horgan-Kobelski, and Troy Wells were chasing hard.

By the fourth lap Bishop made his way into the fifth spot, followed by Schnell (who was riding with only two gears due to the earlier crash). JHK was losing ground at this point.

On lap five Bishop moved to fourth and was closing on the leaders. The next lap he was sitting in third while Kabush continued to lead Trebon. In the ninth lap Bishop took the lead and accelerated the pace. Kabush lead the chase followed by Trebon who briefly appeared he may be in trouble.

On lap 10 Bishop looked backed briefly as the leaders seemed to slow. Behind them it appeared that Decker would perhaps join the leaders, but, on lap 11 Trebon attacked and it became a two-man race as Kabush stayed right on his wheel.

On the final lap, Kabush made a massive attack on the climb to claim the race win.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


1 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis                     23.39
2 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona                              0.04
3 Carl Decker (USA) Giant Mtb Team                    0.11
4 Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Trek/VW                       0.13
5 Ross Schnell (USA) Trek/VW                          0.41
6 Sam Schultz (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher                0.42
7 Troy Wells (USA) Tokyo Joes                         1.04
8 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher     1.10
9 Cody Peterson (USA) Scott Bicycles                  1.20
10 Adam Morka (Can) 3 Rox Cycling                     1.29
11 Tad Elliott (USA) U23 National Team                1.38
12 Brett Morgan (USA) Sobe/Cannondale                 1.41
13 Robert Marion (USA) Kenda Titus                    1.47
14 Andy Schultz (USA) Kenda Titus Hayes               1.56


15 Bryan Alders (USA) Mona-Vie/Cannondale                 
16 Dana Weber (USA) Trek VW/Westcoast                     
17 Chris Peariso (USA) Adventure 212 /Titus               
18 Kevin Bradford Parish (USA) Redline                    
19 Alex Grant (USA) Rocky Mountain Bicycles               
20 Dustin Wanstrath (USA) Tamarack Resort/ Scott Bikes    
21 Keith Hickerson (USA) Tamarack                         
22 Charles Pendry (USA) Inland - Btd                      
23 Spencer Paxson (USA) Middlebury College                
24 Adam Snyder (USA) 3-D Racing                           
25 Colin Cares (USA) U23 National Team                    
26 Stephen Ettinger (USA) Black Diamond Sports Therapy    
27 Mike Phillips (USA) Adventure 212/Specialized          
28 Mcconnell Franklin (USA) Team Devo                     
29 Blake Zumbrunnen (USA) Revolution/Crank Bros           
30 Matt Rotroff (USA) Btd/Inland Construction             
31 Scott Keller (USA) Schampa/Tribe                       
32 Yuki Saito (USA) Fuentes Design/Walt Works             
33 Dallas Morris (Can) H&R Block                          
34 Dylan Stucki (USA) Mafia Racing                        
35 Trevor Downing (USA) Devo                              
36 Drew Edsall (USA) Endurancefactor.Com/Scott            
37 Ryan Iddings (USA) Lapierre                            
38 Mitchell Hoke (USA) Tokyo Jos                          
39 Colin Osborn (USA) Team Bikeparts.Com                  
DNS Sam Jurekovic (USA) U23 National Team                 
DNS Kevin Soller (USA) U23 Usa National Mtb Tm            
DNS Samuel Koerber (USA) Gary Fisher 29Er Crew