Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian National MTB Championships - CN

Mount Stromlo, Australia, January 26-28, 2007

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 6 - January 27: XC: Elite/U23 Women

Thomas becomes triple national champion

Tory Thomas
Photo ©: Mark Gunter
(Click for larger image)

Tory Thomas proved herself again at national level by taking out another title. The 28-year-old from Mt Beauty in Victoria was determined to win the Olympic distance cross country. Thomas also holds the national marathon title and the 24 hour solo title.

"I just really wanted to win today," she admitted. Her motivation came from narrowly missing selection in the last Commonwealth Games and World Championships.

Local rider, Niki Fisher, enthralled her home crowd by leading early in the four lap race. Fisher lost the lead to Thomas but held off the strong Kate Potter. Only a minute separaed the top three with last year's defending champion, Dellys Starr only 30 seconds behind Potter in fourth place.

Tomorrow, many of the elite cross country riders will line up for their second chance at a national title in the short course event.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mark Gunter/www.pbase.com/gunterphotograph


Elite Women
1 Tory Thomas (ORBEA, SRAM)                              1.46.52
2 Niki Fisher (Apis/Scott)                                  1.00
3 Kate Potter (Cotic, A Quick Release Holidays)             1.40
4 Dellys Starr (BMC and others)                             2.07
5 Renee Fortunato                                           4.44
6 Jenni King (Spoken bike shop, tune)                       4.59
7 Jodie Willett (eDiscovery Tools)                          5.10
8 Emma Colson (Topbike Tours, GIANT, Euro Eyewear)          5.19
9 Katherine O'Shea (Fitzroy Cycles/Michelin)                6.02
10 Rosemary Barnes (Giant; N-Zo)                            8.05
11 Naomi Williams (Felt racing\nhutchinson tyres)           9.00
12 Zoe King (Cannondale Australia,King of the Mtn)          9.49
13 Rowena Fry                                              10.40
14 Rebecca Armstrong (Riders Choice Cycles Leederville)    11.09
15 Julie Blake                                             11.22
16 Katrin Van Der Spiegel (Clarence St Cyclery)            12.20
17 Louise Cook (The Bike Shed Canberra)                    12.42
18 Rachel Rademaker (www.cyclelink.com.au, Raceline)       12.51
19 Maria Papadopoulos                                      14.03
20 Claire Haugh (Yeti)                                     14.16
21 Caroline Jackson (Felt\nDescente)                       14.47
22 Kimberley Fleming (Clarence St. Cyclery, TREK Bikes)    15.25
23 Imogen Smith (cannondale, SRAM, scud, maxxis, Giro)     17.06
24 Kelly Bartlett                                          17.08
25 Klara Van Der Vaart (Kona Bicycles\nDirty-pages.net)    19.06
26 Jayne Grubits                                           19.33
27 Nicole James (Ultimate Ride Bike Shop)                  20.29
28 Erica OÕBrien (Panter Cycles)                           22.46
29 Karen McPherson (Kaos Custom Bikes)                     23.02
DNF Alexis Barnes                                               
DNF Vinca Low (Spoke(n))                                        
DNF Kathryn Bicknell (N-Zo)                                     
DNF Vanessa Hentschel                                           
DNF Turi Berg (Fitzroy Cycles)                                  
DNS Jo Wall (Moronis Bikes,A & I Helicopter Sevices)            
U23 Women
1 Lindsay Gorrell                                        1.56.42
2 Therese Rhodes                                            2.08
3 Gracie Elvin                                              5.05