Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

4th Annual Corner Cycle Coonamessett Eco Cross

Coonamessett Farm, Cape Cod, MA, October 1, 2006

Colby, Ingram victorious

The threat of rain and a nearby race conflict failed to dampen the action at the 4th annual Corner Cycle Coonamessett Eco-Cross, which saw a record number of riders flock to Cape Cod for the October 1st event. The course, a highly technical mix of grass, sand and dirt, challenged racers throughout the day, while Buzzards Bay Brewing and the Coonamessett Farm Cafe provided a unique atmosphere that kept the crowds strong throughout the day.

As Buzzards Bay kept the brew flowing, TargetTraining's Anthony Colby put his road legs to good use as he took an easy win over 20 year-old local, Toby Marzot (CL Noonan/KAM/Coast to Coast), who showed that he was ready for the long cross season ahead. Meanwhile, third place went to Cape Cod native Jonny Bold (Corner Cycle), who fought his way back to the podium after a poor start and two mechanicals, including a broken chain. On the women's side, Jessica Ingram (ECV) topped Arielle Filiberti (Hot Tubes) and Perri Mertens (Harris Cyclery/Igleheart). Other winners included Giovanni Marzot (Beginner Men), Alexandra Jospe (Beginner Women), Kevin Hines (Masters 35+), Nickolas Keough (Junior Men) and Tommy Goguen (Cub Juniors).

Special thanks goes to title sponsor George Sykes and Corner Cycle, Buzzards Bay Brewing for their 'atmospheric' support, and to Ron and Roxanne Smolowitz of the Coonamessett Farm who have provided the race with a superb venue for four straight years. We would also like to thank Bill Hurley (www.fastshotsphoto.com) for photographing the race and thanks to all the racers who have supported the race and the farm on race day.


Beginner Men

 1 Giovanni Marzot                                            	               28.56
 2 Kenneth Spellman  (Scottee's Westport Bicycle)
 3 Kevin Cummisford (Boston Road Club)
 4 Skip Salo
 5 John Bache
 6 Cory Johannessen (Essex County Velo/Harvard University Cycling)
 7 Christopher Bailey (Boston Road Club)
 8 Zachary Wills (Alan factory Team)
 9 Art Baril (Minuteman Road Club)
10 John Plump (Quad Cycles)
11 Chris Brown (Corner Cycle)
12 Garett Burke
13 James Scott (Blue Hills Cycling Club)
14 John Wilde (Harvard U Cycling)
15 Manny Goguen (Union Velo)
16 Nicholas Lloyd (Minuteman Road Club)
17 Michael Meuse (Harborside Cycles)
18 Paul Debitetto
19 David Brodsky (Corner Cycle)
20 Eli Levine (Boston Road Club)
21 Gary Musgrove (bikebarnracing.com)
22 Thomas Hurley (Colavita racing)
23 Tim Snow (Fast Splits/Vortex/Bike Barn)
24 Michael Lowry (Minuteman Road Club)
25 Jeffrey Oakes (Scottee's Westport Bicycles)
26 Joe Jackson
27 Sammy Densmore (Corner Cycle)
28 Jesus Vazquez (Bikebarnracing.com)
29 Barton Craig (Providence Bicycle)
30 Patrick McCue
31 Julian Hjortshoj (NEBC)
32 Daniel Russell  (MBRC)

Beginner Women

 1 Alexandra Jospe (Colby cycling)
 2 Carrie Lemieux (NEBC/CycleLoft)
 3 Cathy Rowell (NEBC/Cycleloft)
 4 Rozanne Puleo (Team LUNA Chix)
 5 Julie Lockhart (NEBC/Cycle Loft)

Cub Juniors

 1 Tommy Goguen (Union Velo)
 2 Ryan Packard (Quad Cycles/Arlington Bicycle Club)
 3 Peter Goguen (Union Velo)
 4 Nate Morse (MBRC)
 5 Abigail Callahan (BicycleLink/MBRC)
 6 Ian Keough (CL Noonan/KAM/Coast to Coast)
 7 William Ryan
 8 Walter Ryan

Masters 35+

 1 Kevin Hines (Mid-State Cycling)                                             43.20   
 2 Chris Borrello (Gearworks/Spinarts)
 3 Mark Gunsalus (BikeBarnRacing.com)
 4 Christopher Burke (Providence Velo)
 5 Gray Eldridge (Corner Cycle)
 6 Bob Bisson (Gear Works/Spin Arts)
 7 Todd Watters (Union velo)
 8 David Belknap (Bicycle Link/MBRC)
 9 Michael Cole (MRC)
10 Alec Petro (MBRC/Bicycle Link)
11 Curtis Boivin (Providence Velo)
12 Paul Lynch (MBRC/Bicycle Link)
13 Bo Fuller (Caster's/Majik Coffee p/b Apex Tech Group)
14 Mike Rowell (NEBC/CycleLoft)
15 William Shattuck (Bikebarn Racing Whitman)
16 Peter Collins
17 Coley Bryan (Harborside Cycle)
18 Harry Stover (Bikebarn racing)
19 Eric Marro (BOB/Skofield Builders)
20 David Fredrickson
21 Kevin Callahan (Bicycle Link/MBRC)
22 Michael Keough (Corner Cycle)
23 Nathan Simms (MBRC/Bicycle Link)
24 Tom Thomson (Union velo)
25 Theo Kindermans (cyclocrossworld.com)
26 Kevin Chichlowski (bikebarnracing.com)
27 Jim Burke (NEBC/CycleLoft)
28 Rob Kramer (MBRC/Bicycle Link)
29 Barry Doubleday (MBRC/Bicycle Link)
30 Wayne Cunningham (NEBC/Cycle Loft)
31 Don Seib (NEBC)
32 Rick Desmarais (Union velo)
33 Jonathan Johnson (Bike Works /Swansea Velo)
34 David Leedberg (GearWorks / Spin Arts)
35 Kevin Young (Minuteman Road Club)
36 Bill Doonan (NEBC/Cycleloft)
37 George Sykes (Corner Cycle)
38 Geoff Williams (Providence Velo)
39 Richard Wolfe (NEBC)
40 Michael Hamlet (MRC)
41 Paul Crowley (Missing Link)
42 Arnold T. Kalmbach (Bicycle Link /Mass Bay Road Club)
43 Daniel Joakim (Bicycle Link/MBRC)
44 Gary Miller
DQ Chris Jordan (Union Velo)

Junior Men (15-18)

 1 Nicholas Keough (CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)                               41.48
 2 Gavin Mannion (CCB)
 3 Dan Fishkin (Team Harborside Cycle)
 4 Joshua Lehmann (NorEast Cycling)
 5 Jesse Keough (CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)
 6 Ryan Packard (Quad Cycles/Arlington Bicycle Club)

Open Women

 1 Jessica Ingram (ECV)
 2 Arielle Filiberti (Hot Tubes)
 3 Perri Mertens (Harris Cyclery/Igleheart)
 4 Zoe Owers (1K2GO/S&W Sports)
 5 Susan MacClean (Mid-State Cycling)
 6 Erin Canniff (Harborside Cycles)
 7 Callie McDowell (Velo Bella-Kona)
 8 Kathryne Carr
 9 Katrina Davis (Richard Sachs)
10 Cynthia Joiner
11 Jennifer Stebbins (Dartmouth College Cycling)
12 Heidi Wakeman (Team Harborside Cycle)

Open Men

 1 Anthony Colby (Targe Training)                                               57.45  
 2 Toby Marzot (CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)
 3 Jonny Bold (Corner Cycle)
 4 Kevin Wolfson CL Noonan/Coast to Coast/KAM)
 5 Aaron Molloy (1K2GO.com/S&W Sports cycling team)
 6 Paul Curley (Gearworks/Spinarts)
 7 Matt Demeis (Bikeman.com)
 8 Daniel Estevez (Hot Tubes)
 9 John Burns (Bikeman.com)
10 Aaron Oakes (Iron Horse New England)
11 Justin Lindine (Windham Mountain Outfitters)
12 Brad Sheehan (1K2GO.com/S&W Sports cycling team)
13 Pete Smith (Essex County Velo)
14 Peter Rubijono (HarrisCycleryRacing.com)
15 Jerome Townsend (Alan Factory Team)
16 Dylan O'sullivan (Team Bicycle Alley)
17 Talbott Ingram (ECV)
18 Jeremy Dunn (Harris Cyclery/Igleheart)
19 Chris Harnish (ESPAnswers.com-Tradewind Sports)
20 Jerry Hughes (Bikeman.com)
21 Marc Bavineau (Essex County Velo)
22 James Wirtanen (Harris Cyclery/Igleheart)
23 Sean Capizzo (Caster's/Majik Coffee p/b Apex Tech Group)
24 Adam Sullivan (Caster's Majik Coffee p/b Apex Tech Group)
25 Eric Wemhoff
26 Steven Morse (Bikeman.com)
27 Kyle Smith (Alan Factory Team)
28 Mark Schow (Bike Barn Racing)
29 Justin Finn (Iron Horse New England)
30 Chuck Nguyen (Bikeman.com)

Local results 2006