Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Nashville Cyclo-cross series #1 - Shelby Park, October 21, 2006

Opening act for Nashville 'cross

The opening act of the four-part drama otherwise known as the 2006 Nashville Cyclo-Cross Series came to a close this past Saturday afternoon in Nashville at Shelby Park. The 1.7-mile course featured a long, slow, gradual climb that ended with a multi-stair run-up, a progressively-muddy, off-camber section, one pair of 40 cm temporary barriers, a short lap around a very active, enclosed, dog park, a sixty-step incline (rideable by some), followed by a twisting downhill and a lengthy, paved straight-away.

Emma Foster (RE MAX/Yazoo), started off the morning by soloing to a brilliant victory in the kidsí 12-and-under race on a modified portion of the course. Jonathan Craig (TriStar) was unchallenged in the Juniorsí field, and finished the 30-minute, four-lap race (on a road bike, no less!) in the middle of a crowded Menís CX 4 group. Dale Tillman (Outdoor Chattanooga) put an early gap on Ruthie Myers (Team MOAB), and earned her place at the top of the podium in the Womenís race.

The Menís CX 4 race featured an early, unchallenged break-away by Cumberland Transitís John Elgamgy that resulted in a first-place showing. The Menís CX 3 race was won by Michael Biegalski, who was racing in one of his first cyclo-cross races. Biegalski quietly out-paced the rest of the pack by clocking a 6:12 first lap. His consistency continued throughout the duration of the race, as his slowest split of the eight-lap race was 6:39. Kenny Marshall (Columbia Cycling) beat a well-warmed-up John Elgamgy in the Masterís 35+ event.

Troy Tucker (Hult Fast Velo) and Travis Werts (Gran Fondo) kept up a tactical chess match for the first three laps of the Menís Pro/CX 1/ CX 2 race. Tucker opened up a lead in the fourth of the sixty-minute, ten-lap race and never conceded his position. Werts finished ahead of Justin Mitchell (RE MAX/Yazoo) for second place.


1 Emma Foster                
1 Jonathan Craig             
1 Dale Tillman               
2 Ruthie Myers               
1 Troy Tucker                
2 Travis Werts               
4 Justin Mitchell            
1 Michael Biegalski          
2 Everette Herring           
3 Josh Beckham               
4 Thad Hoffman               
5 Sharp Emmons               
6 Andy Barton                
7 Mike Neumeyer              
8 Troy Foster                
9 Steven Myers               
10 Jeffrey Schaarschmicth    
1 John Elgamgy               
2 Riccardo Cannone           
3 Brett Miller               
4 Jeremy Hall                
5 Thomas Field               
6 Todd Essig                 
7 Steve Smail                
8 Cliff Lippard              
9 Don Fields                 
10 Jerry Kettles             
11 Josh Chestnut             
1 Kenny Marshall             
2 John Elgamgy               
3 Dahron Johnson             

Local results 2006