Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Central New York Cyclo-cross series #2

Syracuse Grand Prix, Syracuse, New York, October 15, 2006

Dan Timmerman (Fiordifruitta) Continues to Shine in 2006 'Cross Season

Dan Timmerman (Fiordifruitta) scored his second victory in as many races in race 2 of the Louis Garneau Central New York Cyclocross Series. Timmerman, just off his victory at race one of the series, as well as two top-10 places in two weekends at big UCI 'cross races, took control of the race early-on.

The 2006 edition of the Syracuse Grand Prix started in decent weather, but with much cooler temperatures (50's), Timmerman, Pierre Roussel, and Ted King (Priority Health) took an early lead after a small slip caused Paul Komanecky (Preferred Care) and Matt Dickinson (Placid Planet) to become chasers.

Roussel, unable to keep pace with the flying Timmerman and King, dropped back to no-man's land and would stay there for the remainder of the race, to end up in 3rd place. Ahead, Timmerman punched the gas with a couple laps to go in order to rid himself the persistent King to come in for convincing solo victory here at Longbranch Park, Syracuse, NY.

Behind, Komanecky and Dickinson rode together for almost the entire race with Komanecky conceding 4th place to Dickinson. Komanecky showed some grit, taking 5th in his first official cyclocross race, in a field stacked with solid competitors.

Timmerman now has a commanding lead in the Louis Garneau Central New York Cyclocross Series, but will his UCI racing schedule permit him to stick around and defend his lead? If not, Pierre Roussel is poised to pounce on it with Matt Dickinson close in the chase as well.


1 Dan Timmerman (Fioifruitta)          
2 Ted King (Priority Heal)             
3 Pierre Roussel                       
4 Matt Dickinson (Placid Planet)       
5 Paul Komanecky (Preferred Care)      
6 Jeremy Ganer                         
7 Michael Kumiega (RUUD Racing)        
8 Geoffrey Bergmark (Spokepost.com)    
9 Matew DeLisa                         
10 Scott Hannan (Spokepost.com)        
11 Erik KishTrier                      
12 Nick Robertson                      
13 John Ormsby                         
14 John Compton (Spokepost.com)        
15 Jason Haight (Spokepost.com)        

Local results 2006