Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Georgia Cyclo-cross series #5 - Marietta, GA November 12, 2006

Fetty and Travelgirls victorious in Georgia 'cross

By Adam Jones

The 5th race of the Georgia Cross Series was held November 12, 2006 in Marietta , Georgia . The course was on the north side of Atlanta and as always drew a huge crowd. Perfect weather big fields proved to be the perfect combination to generate some great racing.

The Women’s A race saw an exciting battle between the Travel Girl duo of Kim Sawyer and Kim Foland and Outspokin’s Ellen Carroll. The three stayed together for the first lap until Sawyer broke free on the second lap with Foland in tow. Sawyer and Foland worked together to distance the hard chasing Carroll and then fought out the win with Sawyer taking the glory.

The Men’s A race saw Jacob Fetty of Thebikegame.com score a win over series leader Michael Cummings of KHS/Cycleyouth. Tim Barrett of Myogensis animated the race with an early attack and Fetty counterattacked to break away from the small group a little over midway through the hour long race. Cummings and three others continued to chase to no avail. Fetty never let off the gas and won with a comfortable margin.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Trish Albert/www.southeasterncycling.com


Men's A 

1 Jacob Fetty (IBEX) 2 Michael Cummings (Cycle Youth) 3 Eric Murphy (AEG Toshiba) 4 Tim Barrett (Myogenesis) 5 Oscar Clark (Land Rover-Siemens) Women's A
1 Kim Sawyer (Travelgirl) 2 Kim Foland (Travelgirl) 3 Ellen Carroll (Outspokin) 4 Kristin Bowers (Atomic) 5 Holly Longley Women's B 1 Susie Council 2 Allison Knight (Sorella) 3 Sandy Kern 4 Lauri Schultz 5 Kathryn Kim (Sorella) Master 35+
1 Bob Kuhn (GTC) 2 Chris Wiley 3 Gerard Remery (GTC) 4 Jon Dalman (Dahlonega Wheelworks) 5 Jay Wansley (Cycleworks) Master 40+
1 Dan Coy (GTC) 2 Torre Smitherman (GTC) 3 Wayne Nix (Hammer Solutions) 4 Jim Behning (GTC) 5 Lamar Mauney (Land Rover Siemens) Men's B
1 Daniel Moss (Maxxis) 2 Tristan Cowie (Cycle Youth) 3 Eric Neely (Camp Highlands) 4 Richard Tillotson (Avxbikes com) 5 Greg Turner (RBM/Velo Voodoo) Men's C
1 Daniel Stallings (GTC) 2 Richard Foster (Southern Company) 3 Lemuel Kirkland (Dahlonega Wheelworks) 4 Marshal Mallard (GTC) 5 Alex Dreyer

Local results 2006