Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

61st Six Days of Dortmund - 6D

Germany, October 31-November 5, 2002

Main Page     Results      Previous Day

Day 6 - November 5

Beikirch and Kappes steal a lap to win

It was an all German victory in the Six Days of Dortmund, as Andreas Beikirch/Andreas Kappes finished on top of the standings after the sixth night. The pair finished a lap in front of previous leaders Rolf Aldag/Silvio Martinello, who could not sufficiently control their rivals to win with their superior points total. Third place went to Swiss Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart, who finished on the same lap as Aldag/Martinello but 106 points behind.

For Kappes it was his 23rd Six Day victory, but for Beikirch it was his inaugural win. Could there now be a new German top team in Six Day racing?


Final standings

1 Andreas Beikirch/Andreas Kappes (Ger)         364 pts

1 lap behind

2 Rolf Aldag (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita)      447
3 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi)               341

2 laps behind

4 Stuart O'Grady/Scott Mcgrory (Aus)            365

9 laps behind

5 Marty Nothstein (USA)/Matthew Gilmore (Bel)   260
6 Jimmi Madsen (Den)/Thorsten Rund (Ger)        135

10 laps behind

7 Guido Fulst/Andreas Müller (Ger)              164

11 laps behind

8 Danny Stam/Robert Slippens (Ned)              183

12 laps behind

9 Stefan Steinweg/Erik Weispfennig (Ger)        101

18 laps behind

9 Lars Teutenberg/Frank Kowatschitsch (Ger)     164

23 laps behind

11 Christian Lademann/Ronny Lauke (Ger)         124

28 laps behind

12 Franz Stocher/Roland Garber (Aut)            53

33 laps behind

13 Gerd Dörich/Mario Vonhof (Ger)               82

38 laps behind

14 Chris Newton/Bradley Wiggins (Gbr)           75

39 laps behind

15 Jens Lehmann/Sebastian Siedler (Ger)         76


Final standings after night 6

1 Carsten Podlesch (Ger)/Bruno Walrave (Ned)    45 pts
2 Peter Jörg (Swi)/René Aebi (Swi)              44
3 Stefan Klare (Ger)/Christian Dippel (Ger)     40
4 Jan Richter (Ger)/Dieter Durst (Ger)          37
5 Raymond Rol (Ned)/ Manfred Schmadtke (Ger)    23
6 Lubomir Mazel (Cze)/Helmut Baur (Ger)         21

Courtesy of the Union International des Velodromes