Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

39th Six Days of Munich - 6D

Germany, November 7-12, 2002

2001 Results     Day List     Start List     Past winners

The Program


The 39th Six Days of Munich will get under way at 9pm on the evening of Thursday, November 7 in Munich's Olympiapark velodrome. 14 professional teams will take part in the event, including top combinations such as Scott McGrory/Matthew Gilmore, Robert Slippens/Danny Stam, Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart and Andreas Kappes/Andreas Beikirch. In addition to these favourites, Australian Stuart O'Grady will team up with Italian Silvio Martinello. These two riders are currently holding the top two positions in the Dortmund Six after night 3 (O'Grady is with McGrory in second, Martinello is with Aldag in first) and will definitely be a threat to the rest.

McGrory, the Olympic Champion, said that "The Munich Six Days is like Wimbledon is to Tennis or the Tour de France is to road racing," and he together with his normal partner Matthew Gilmore will be doing his best to win it.

There will also be a sprint competition in Munich, with Australian World Champions Sean Eadie and Jobie Dajka riding along with Germans Rene Wolff and Jens Fiedler.


Images by Allen Wright

Images by Lucy Power

Images by Ben Martin

Start list


1 Stuart O'Grady/Silvio Martinello (Aus/Ita) Franziskaner

2 Andreas Kappes/Andreas Beikirch (Ger) Coca Cola

3 Scott McGrory/Matthew Gilmore (Aus/Bel) Generali

4 Bradley Wiggins/Martin Nothstein (GBr/USA) Alba

5 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart (Swi) BRW

6 Stefan Steinweg/Erik Weispfennig (Ger/Ger) Stadler

7 Robert Slippens/Danny Stam (Ned) Karstadt

8 Jimmy Madsen/Thorsten Rund (Den/Ger) SWM

9 Adriano Baffi/Marco Villa (Ita) RegioneBasilikata

10 Andreas Müller/Guido Fulst (Ger) ZSD

11 Lars Teutenberg/Frank Kowatschitsch (Ger) Haberl

12 Gerd Dörich/Mario Vonhof (Ger) Bayer. Spielbanken

13 Jens Lehmann/Ronnie Laucke (Ger) Ingram - Micro

14 Lorenzo Lapage/Christian Lademann (Bel/Ger) Heim & Handwerk


Sean Eadie (Aus)

Jobie Dajka (Aus)

Jens Fiedler (Ger)

René Wolff (Ger)

Past winners

2001 Erik Zabel (Ger)/Silvio Martinello (Ita) 

2000 Bruno Risi (Swi)/Kurt Betschart (Swi)

1999 Silvio Martinello/Andreas Kappes

1998 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart

1997 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart

1996 Adriano Baffi/Giovanni Lombardi

1995 Etienne de Wilde/Erik Zabel

1994 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart

1993 Bruno Risi/Kurt Betschart

1992 Urs Freuler/Olaf Ludwig

1991 Andreas Kappes/Etienne de Wilde

1990 Danny Clark/Tony Doyle

1989 Andreas Kappes/Etienne de Wilde

1988 Danny Clark/Tony Doyle

1987 Urs Freuler/Dietrich Thurau

1986 Danny Clark/Dietrich Thurau

1985 Urs Freuler/Rene Pijnen

1984 Gerd Frank/Hans-Hendrik Oersted

1983 Rene Pijnen/Urs Freuler

1982 Patrick Sercu/Rene Pijnen

1981 Danny Clark/Don Allan

1980 Danny Clark/Don Allan

1979 Patrick Sercu/Dietrich Thurau

1978 Patrick Sercu/Gregor Braun

1977 Patrick Sercu/Eddy Merckx

1976 Wilfried Peffgen/Albert Fritz

1975 Rene Pijnen/Guenther Haritz

1974 Graeme Gilmore/Sigi Renz

1973 Rene Pijnen/Leo Duyndam

1972 Wolfgang Schulze/Sigi Renz

1954 Hans Preiskeit/Ludwig Hoermann

1953 Jean Roth/Walter Bucher

1952 Alfred Strom/Ludwig Hoermann

1951 Emile Carrara/Guy Lapebie

1950 (1) Camile de Kuysscher/Odiel van den Meerschaut

1950 (2) Robert Naeye/Rene Adriaenssens

1949 Robert Naeye/Maurice Depauw

1933 Oskar Tietz/Franz Lehmann

  Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com