Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




ESCA Meadowbank Velodrome Track League

July 23, 2002

Bank of Scotland Commonwealth Games team members made their final preparations before leaving for Manchester in the 11th round of Meadowbank Track League placing 1, 2 and 3 on the night. The field was lead by Richard Chapman who scored 8 points with wins in the Devil and 40 Lap Scratch. Ross Muir scored 7 points after winning the opening 15 Lap Scratch and taking 2nd in the 40 Lap Scratch in which he and Chapman Lapped the field. Teammate James McCallum made it a clean sweep scoring 5 points with second places in the Devil and 15 Lap Scratch and a heat win in the 500m Handicap. The 500m Handicap saw an epic ride from the front by youth rider Tom McKay in a blanket finish with Kate Cullen just edging out another Commonwealth Games rider Marco Librizzi who had been pulled 3m for a false start.

Overall, Evan Oliphant continues to head the League with Muir taking over from Martin Lonie at the top of the B Season league.

Emily Forde's lead in the Womens league was cut back to just 6 points after a high nights scoring by Cullen while Denise Lamond continues to close the gap on third place rider Jane Leask. In a hottly contested Youth league the lead continues to change with Kevin Barclay and Tom McKay moving ahead of the absent Shane Charlton.


A Class Riders 15 Lap Scratch 
1 Ross Muir 
2 James McCallum 
3 Darren Howitt 
B Class Riders 10 Lap Scratch 
1 Andrew Skeen 
2 Graham Barclay 
3 Oliver Brooks 
C Class Riders 8 Lap Scratch 
1 Denise Lamond 
2 Neil Laing 
3 Jane Leask 
D Class Riders 4 Lap Block Handicap
1 Tom McKay 
2 Eileen Roe 
3 Keri McMahon 
Qualifying flying Lap for sprint ladder 
Matthew Smith                        18.17 
500m Handicap Heats 
Heat 1 Kevin Barclay                 32.50 
Heat 2 James McCallum                33.00 
Heat 3 Marco Librizzi                32.23 
Heat 4 Kate Cullen                   33.46 
Heat 5 Tom McKay                     32.88 
Consolation Italian pursuit for Non finalists 
1 Richard Chapman 
2 Ivor Reid 
3 Fraser Menzies 
4 Colin Crawford
5 Emily Forde
6 Andy Laing
7 Chris Adamson
8 Lawrence Tring
9 Denise Lamond
10 Darren Howitt
11 Neil Laing 

D Class Riders 500m sprint

1 Kevin Barclay 
2 Eileen Roe 
3 Ross Mitchell 
De'il for B & C Class Riders 
1 Graham Barclay 
2 Colin Crawford 
3 Matthew Smith 
De'il for A Class Riders 
1 Richard Chapman 
2 James McCallum 
3 Darren Howitt 
500m Handicap final 
1 Kevin Barclay 
2 Kate Cullen 
3 Marco Librizzi 
4 Tom McKay 
C & D Class Riders 6 Lap Block Handicap 
1 Tom McKay 
2 Kevin Barclay 
3 Neil Laing 
A + B Class Riders 40 Lap Scratch with sprints 
1 Richard Chapman 
2 Ross Muir 
3 Derek Smith 
Lap 30 Richard Chapman 
Lap 22 Ross Muir 
Lap 12 Ross Muir 
Meadowbank National Track League
Leading Positions at 23/7/02
Open League
1 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)      59 points
2 Darren Howitt (Pro Acta Expresso)     46
3 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)     43
4 Emily Forde (Team Caledonia)          32
5 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC) 31
6 Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC)            31
Junior League
1 Stephen Robertson (Glasgow Couriers)  21
2 Chris Chester (Ferryhill Wheelers)    11
3 Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wheelers)      3 
Womens League
1 Emily Forde (Team Caledonia)          40
2 Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC)            34
3 Jane Leask (Team Caledonia)           23
Youth League
1 Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)      31
2 Thomas Mackay (Edinburgh Racers)      27
3 Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT)           22
Sprint Ladder
1 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)  5
2 Ivor Reid (Clach CC)                   3
3 Andy Laing (Musselburgh RCC)           3
Keirin League
1 Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse)       12
2 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC) 11
3 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)       9
Season B
1 Ross Muir (Cyclingscotland)           28
2 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)     22
3 Martin Lonie (Cyclingscotland)        16
4 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC) 14
5 Denise Lamond (Edinburgh RC)          13
6 Neil Laing (Edinburgh RC)             12

Previous results from UK