Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Results and Reports for June 29-July 5, 2002

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




ESCA Meadowbank Track League

July 2, 2002

Bank of Scotland Scottish Commonwealth Games team rider Ross Muir topped the table in the eighth round of Meadowbank National Track League. Muir, back from the National Road Race at the weekend, took first place in the 12 lap scratch an as well as 2nd in the 40 lap scratch and 3rd in the Devil which together with 2 bonus sprints in the main distance event gave him a total of 8 points on the night.

Not far behind was Cyclingscotland team mate Martin Lonie on 6 points with a win in the Devil and 40 lap scratch, however he failed to pick up any points in the bonus sprints. None of this affected the leading positions in the open league with Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse) continuing to top the field, despite having moved back home to Caithness for the summer. Darren Howitt (Team Velo Ecosse) retains second spot 18 points behind, scoring only 2 points on the night. The race for third spot remains tight with 7 riders including Chris Adamson and Andy Laing (both Musselburgh RCC), Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland), David Nisbet (Glasgow Couriers) and Derek Smith (City of Edinburgh RC) all within 5 points of each other.

Trinidad riders Akor Kellor and Elisha Greene added an international flavour to the league. The Trinidad team for the Commonwealth Games are basing themselves in Edinburgh for their final Games preparation and took advantage of the league to gain some racing following the washout of the previous weekends International Grand Prix. Kellor won the Sprinters League event comfortably.

In the Women's League there were no changes overall with Emily Forde (Team Caledonia) continuing to head the league closely followed by Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC) only 2 points behind. With Forde and Cullen moving up a class due to their recent performances, top scorer on the night was Denise Lamond (Edinburgh RC) who picked up 6 points with a win in the 8 lap scratch, 2nd in the 20 lap scratch and a bonus sprint to her credit. Junior rider Jane Leask (Team Caledonia) was not far behind on 5 points to retain her third spot overall.

In the Youth league, Ross Mitchell (Edinburgh Racers) scored 7 points to move into fourth overall and close the gap at the top of the table behind the absent Kevin Barclay and Lisa Kinroy. Tom Mackay (Edinburgh Racers) remains in third spot only three points behind Barclay. The Youth league looks like it will be very close with the top 6 riders all within 10 points of each other.

In the Junior league, Stephen Robertson extended his lead to 13 points over Stuart McManus.


Qualifying Flying Lap For Sprint Ladder
Shane Charlton                        16.60
Elisha Greene                         15.20
Ako Kellor                            15.22
Chris Chester                         15.81
B Class Riders 10 Lap Scratch
1 F Menzies                         3.36.11
2 C Chester
3 S Robertson
A Class Riders 12 Lap Scratch
1 R Muir                            3.55.28
2 C Chester
3 S Robertson
D  Riders 4 Lap Block Handicap
1 S Charlton                        1.22.48
2 R Mitchell
3 T McKay
C Class Riders 8 Lap Scratch
1 D Lamond                          2.55.34
2 A Crookston
3 J Leask
Sprinters' Ladder
Heat 1
1 D Nisbet                            14.06
2 C Adamson
3 N Hall
Heat 2
1 A Taylor                            13.86
2 A Skeen
3 F Menzies
Heat 3
1 R Chapman                           13.21
2 A Laing
3 S Robertson
Heat 4
1 A Kellor                            12.43
2 G Steen    
3 E Greene
De'il For B Riders And Non-Sprinters
1 M Lonie
2 D Howitt
3 R Muir
D Class Riders 500 Mtr Dash
Heat 1
1 S Charlton                          16.64
2 R Mitchell
3 K McMahon
Heat 2
1 T McKay                             17.00
2 S Robertson
3 R Wilson
De'il For C Riders
1 J Leask
2 N Laing
3 A Crookston
1750m Handicap D Class Riders
1 R Mitchell                          56.53
2 S Robertson
3 K McMahon
C Class Riders 20 Lap Scratch With Sprints
1 V Possee                          7.36.62
2 D Lamond
3 J Leask
lap 18 A Crookston
lap 12 D Lamond
lap 6 N Laing
B Class Riders 30 Lap Scratch With Sprints
1 O Brookes                        11.07.53
2 M Silver    
3 S Robertson
lap 24 M Silver   
lap 16 M Silver    
lap 8 S Robertson
A Class Riders 40 Lap Scratch With Sprints
1 M Lonie                          13.12.98
2 R Muir    
3 R Chapman
lap 32 R Muir   
lap 20 R Chapman    
lap 14 R Muir
Meadowbank National Track League
Leading Positions at 2/7/02
Open League
1 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)                  55
2 Darren Howitt (Pro Acta Expresso)                 37
3 Emily Forde (Team Caledonia)                      29
4 Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC)                        27
5 Chris Adamson (Musselburgh RCC)                   25
6 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)                 25
Junior League
1 Stephen Robertson (Glasgow Couriers)              16
2 Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wh)                        3
3 Colin Crookston (Denny RC)                         2
Women's League
1 Emily Forde (Team Caledonia)                      33
2 Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC)                        30
3 Jane Leask (Team Caledonia)                       16
Youth League
1 Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)                  21
2 Lisa Kinroy (ERC)                                 20
3 Thomas Mackay (Edinburgh Racers)                  18
Sprint Ladder
1 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)              5
2 Ivor Reid (Clach CC)                               3
3 Andy Laing (Musselburgh RCC)                       3
Keirin League
1 Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse)                    9
2 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)                   9
3 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)              6
Season B (26 June  - 3 September)
1 Ross Muir (Cyclingscotland)                        8
2 Martin Lonie (Cyclingscotland)                     6
3 Denise Lamond (Edinburgh RC)                       6
4 Jane Leask (Team Caledonia)                        5
5 Mark Silver (Pedal Power RT)                       4
6 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)                  4

Previous results from UK