Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

United Kingdom

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Untitled Document

Surry league #1
Eddy Soens memorial
Surry league #2
Surry league festival




Meadowbank Track League

Edinburgh, August 27, 2002

Oliphant cements lead

Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse) confirmed his position as winner of the 2002 Meadowbank Track League in convincing form winning the 15 lap scratch, Devil and 5 mile scratch together with 2 intermediary sprints in the process. After a few weeks away from the competition after returning home to Wick for the summer vacation, Oliphant a student at Edinburgh University made the 500 mile round trip to Edinburgh to seal the victory.

The potential challenge from Darren Howitt (Pro Acta Expresso) failed to materialise as Howitt was restricted to a third place in the Devil as his only point scoring for the night. This left him a full 20 points behind Oliphant. Third place overall went to Richard Chapman (CyclingScotland) a further nine points behind.

The most exciting race of the evening was the 500m handicap where 4 youths made the top placings in a blanket finish. It was only appropriate that Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers) took the win which confirmed him as the Youth Champion for 2002. With 11 youths having taken part in the Track League on a regular basis this year, the efforts of the Edinburgh Racers coaches have been paying dividends. In a close tussle for 2nd place, Thomas Mckay moved ahead of Shane Charlton on the final night to take the verdict by 5 points. Keri McMahon was the first girl in 4th place overall.

With all the Women competitors on duty at the British Track Championships, Emily Forde was confirmed as having retained her title for the 3rd year in succession. It is likely however that she will face a stiff challenge in 2003 from Kate Cullen who in her first year on the track showed great potential. Stephen Robertson (Glasgow Couriers) was also confirmed as the Junior Champion.

When the rest of Scottish cycling appears to be in decline with an increasing number of events being cancelled and dwindling fields, it is encouraging to see the participation levels in track racing increasing to record levels. Over 80 riders took part in the 2002 Track League with 74 scoring points. It is even more encouraging to see the largest number of Youths taking part for over 15 years and ranging in age from 9 to 16. Track racing at Meadowbank looks to have a promising future.


A  class riders 15 lap scratch
1 Evan Oliphant                4.59.97
2 Nicky Hall
3 Martin Lonie
B class riders 10 lap scratch
1 Greg Imlah
2Graham Barclay
3 Lawrence Tring
D class riders 6 lap block handicap
1 Kevin Barclay
2 Eileen Roe
3 Patrick Galbraith
500m handicap heats
Heat 1 
1 E Roe                          32.79 
2 L. Tring                       33.87
Heat 2 
1 A MacIntosh                    33.48
2 O Brooks                       33.53
Heat 3 
1 M Colquhoun                    33.68
2 R Mitchell                     33.91
Heat 4 
1 T Mackay                       32.75
2 M. Lonie                       33.33
Heat 5 
1 R Wilson                       32.62
2 K Barclay                      32.75
Consolation Italian pursuit for non-finalists
Point Scorers: E Oliphant; A Lees; 
C Adamson; G Imlah; K McMahon; 
C Fraser; O Brooks; A Laing; J Stollery; 
N Hall; S Matheson; M Lonie    3.41.60
Youths / women 500m sprint
Heat 1 
1 E Roe   
2 R Wilson                       16.00
Heat 2 
1 K Barclay 
2 R Mitchell                     15.83
De'il for B + C class riders
1 Graham Barclay
2 Greg Imlah
3 Oliver Brooks
De'il for A class riders
1 Evan Oliphant
2 Andy Laing
3 Darren Howitt
500m handicap final
1 Kevin Barclay                  32.72
2 Eileen Roe
3 Ross Wilson 
4 Thomas Mckay
D class riders 6 lap scratch
1 Patrick Galbraith
2 Kevin Barclay
3 Ross Mitchell
A + B class riders Meadowbank five mile with sprints
1 Evan Oliphant               10.51.39
2 Martin Lonie
3 Darren Howitt 
4 Andy Laing 
lap 30: G Imlah 
lap 22: E Oliphant 
lap 12: E Oliphant

Meadowbank National Track League Final Positions

Open League
1 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)          72 pts
2 Darren Howitt (Pro Acta Expresso)         52
3 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)         43
4 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)     37
5 Martin Lonie (Europcar RT)                35
6 Andy Laing (Musselburgh RCC)              34
Junior League
1 Stephen Robertson (Glasgow Couriers)      21 pts
2 Chris Chester (Ferryhill Wh)              11
3 Stuart McManus (Glasgow Wh)                3
Womens League
1 Emily Forde (Team Caledonia)              51 pts
2 Kate Cullen (Edinburgh RC)                39
3 Jane Leask (Team Caledonia)               24
Youth League
1 Kevin Barclay (Edinburgh Racers)          44 pts
2 Thomas Mackay (Edinburgh Racers)          32
3 Shane Charlton (Kingdom RT)               27
Sprint Ladder
1 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)      8 pts
2 Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse)            4
3 Stef Collins (City of Edinburgh RC)        4
Keirin League
1 Graeme Steen (Team Velo Ecosse)           12 pts
2 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)     11
3 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)           9
Season B
1 Ross Muir (Cyclingscotland)               33 pts
2 Martin Lonie (Europcar RT)                27
3 Richard Chapman (Cyclingscotland)         22
4 Marco Librizzi (City of Edinburgh RC)     20
5 Darren Howitt (Pro Acta Expresso)         17
6 Evan Oliphant (Team Velo Ecosse)          17 

Previous results from UK