Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

NCCA Track Championships - NE

Indianapolis, Indiana, September 18-20, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Day

Day 3 - Saturday, September 20

Collegiate Track Nationals conclude in Indianapolis

Penn State ride away with the medals

By Andy Lee, USA Cycling

The 2003 NCAA Collegiate Track National Championships concluded this past weekend at the Major Taylor Velodrome in Indianapolis, Indiana.

In the men's events, Penn State University rode away with all but one of the national titles available largely in part to the efforts of Andy Lakatosh (Trexlertown, Pa.) and Bobby Lea (Mertztown, Pa.) who shared seven championships between them.

In the men's one kilometer time trial, Lea clocked a time of 1:06.641 to take the win ahead of his teammate, Lakatosh, who answered with a title of his own in the 200m time trial with a time of 11.410. Lea claimed his second national championship in the 3000m time trial with a time of 3:36.283 over second place finisher, Midwestern State's Stefan Rothe (Wichita Falls, Texas). His streak then continued with a win in the 30k points race over his Penn State teammate, Mike Friedman (Pittsburgh, Pa.).

Lakatosh wrapped up his individual honors as he claimed the men's sprint classification, after which the Penn State team of Lakatosh, Lea, and Friedman claimed the title in the Team Pursuit. The Indiana University team of Joshua Weir, Katherine Beyer, Simeon Commissiong, and Kristopher Keller bested the US Military Academy Team for the title in the Italian Pursuit.

In women's action, University of Florida's Rebecca McClintock (Gainsville, Fla.) took home the national championship in the 2000m time trial with a time of 2:49.032. Kristin Siebenlist (Indianapolis, Ind.; Marian College) won the 200m time trial with a time of 13.882. Carrie Kopernik (Milwaukee, Wisc.; UWM) was crowned national champion in the 500m time trial after posting a winning time of 40.919. Lori Palmer (Gainsville, Fla.) gave the University of Florida its second national championship after scoring 30 points in the 20k points race.

Finally, the women's sprint team closed out a successful event for Indiana as the trio of Elizabeth Milne, Nicole Vincent, and Beyer brought home the team sprint title in a time of 1:25.72.


Images by Mark Zalewski/www.showchoir.net/imageIndex.html


Men's points race
1 Bobby Lea                                 41 pts
2 Mike Friedman                             27
3 James Hibbard                             18
4 Andy Lakatosh                             14
5 Stefan Rothe                              13
6 Dan Larson                                12
7 Mat Stephens                              11
8 Tucker Brown                               9
9 K. Benjamin Richter                        7
10 Joshua Weir                               7
11 Jake Rytlewski                            5
12 Marco Verwijs                             3
13 Scott Walters                             3
14 Nicholas Dregne                           3
15 Kevin Suhr                                2
16 Daniel Mendoza                            1
17 Tonatiuh Rodriguez-Nik                    0
18 Jonathan Swain                            0
19 Simeon Commissiong                        0
20 David Wells                               0
21 Daniel Holt                               0
22 Brian Vaughan                             0
23 Joshua Ryan                               0
DNF Michael House                            0
Team pursuit
1 Penn State
2 Marian
3 Florida
4 Miami Ohio
5 Indiana
6 Purdue
Men's sprint
1 Andy Lakatosh
2 Timo Budarz
3 Brad Kemen
4 Simeon Commissiong
5 Nicholas Dregne
6 Jason Romain
7 William Cheramie
8 Joshua Ryan
9 Brian Vaughan
10 David Suarez
11 Dominic Van Nielen
12 Kevin Suhr
13 Mark Van Gemert
14 Mat Stephens
15 John Torbeville
16 Allan Smith
17 Jeremy Miller
18 K. Benjamin Richter
19 Charles (Joe) Eldridge
20 Joshua Weir
Women's sprint
1 Rebecca McClintock
2 Nicole Vincent
3 Kristin Siebenlist
4 Elizabeth Milne
5 Michelle Arnold
6 Melissa Gambol
7 Alynda Boursaw
8 Katherine Beyer
9 Alexis Newell
10 Leigh Frame
11 Laura Mcginnis
12 Kathy Kilar
13 Elisabeth Schneider
Women 200m Time Trial
1 Kristin Siebenlist       13.882 (51.866km/h)
2 Nicole Vincent           13.900 (51.799km/h)
3 Rebecca McClintock       14.118 (50.999km/h)
4 Melissa Gambol           14.379 (50.073km/h)
5 Alynda Boursaw           14.440 (49.861km/h)
6 Elizabeth Milne          14.672 (49.073km/h)
7 Katherine Beyer          14.757 (48.790km/h)
8 Michelle Arnold          15.109 (47.654km/h)
9 Alexis Newell            15.188 (47.406km/h)
10 Leigh Frame             15.477 (46.521km/h)
11 Laura McGinnis          15.971 (45.082km/h)
12 Kathy Kilar             16.701 (43.111km/h)
13 Elisabeth Schneider     16.761 (42.957km/h)