Home  Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 Introduction to Track Racing  -  What's a Wheelrace?  - Introduction to Six Day racing  - UCI codes

Perth Cycling Grand Prix - NE

Perth, Australia, November 21, 2003


Australia dominate Britain at the Speed Dome

By: Tracey Tilsed in Perth

It was standing room only at the Speed Dome in Midvale when Australia and Great Britain took to the track in a battle for the "Ashes". A capacity crowd was treated to a night of world-class cycling, with World Champions and Olympic Gold medallists battling it out for national honours. Australia dominated the night's proceedings, winning all the events on offer in the one-off test series.

In the Team Sprint, the Australian team of Mark French (Vic), Jobie Dajka (SA) and Shane Kelly (Vic) were too strong for the Great Britain team of Craig McLean, Jason Queally and Chris Hoy. The teams were neck-and-neck throughout the race, however in the end, the Australian's powered away to cross the line in a time of 45.85 seconds, with Great Britain less than one second behind, with a time of 46.72 seconds.

In Heat One of the Keirin, it was Australia's Jobie Dajka who took the honours, putting in a fast finish to cross the line first, followed closely by Australia's Mark French, with Great Britain's Chris Hoy in third position. Local rider Daniel Vogels lead the group into the bell lap, before Dajka showed why he is one of the world's best in the Keirin, taking the lead in the back straight to head the field home.

Heat Two saw Australian's fill the first two places, with Ryan Bayley crossing the line first, ahead of Shane Kelly, with Craig McLean from Great Britain in third place.

In the A Keirin final, it was Australia's Ryan Bayley who led all the way until Great Britain's Chris Hoy decided to up the pace with one and a half laps to go. Australia's Shane Kelly moved to the outside of the track at the bell-lap, and accelerated away to cross the line first. Great Britain's Craig McLean finished second, while Ryan Bayley, who found himself boxed in down the back straight, finished in third position.

The Derny, a 40 lap invitational for six riders, brought the crowd to their feet when Australia's Brett Aitken came from behind to claim victory. After sitting in second last position for most of the race, Aitken increased the pace towards the final laps, taking the lead in the bell-lap to head the field home.

Australia's Graeme Brown led the rest of the field by a straight after five laps, and remained in front until 14 laps to go, before Britain's Keiran Page passed a fading Brown. Fellow Brit, Dean Downing diced with Hoy at the front of the field, with the lead changing on several occasions, with Australia's Brett Lancaster sitting in third spot. Brown dug deep again to pass Lancaster on the front straight with six laps to go, before passing both British riders to head the field in the closing stages. However it was the fast finishing Aitken who flew down the back straight to claim the race. The British riders filled the minor placings, with Keiran Page in second and Dean Lancaster in third.

The last race on the programme, a 70 lap Madison, was a close contest until the teams of Graeme Brown and Brett Lancaster, and Keiran Page and Dean Downing, teamed up to streak away from the field. Both teams lapped the remaining riders. The team of Brett Aitken and Ashley Hutchinson sprinted away from the field in the final stages to cross the line first in the final sprint, worth double points. The final placings saw Brown and Lancaster take first position, with the British duo of Page and Downing in second, while Aitken and Hutchinson finished third.

In the 500m Time Trial, Ryan Bayley replaced Shane Kelly in the grudge match against Britain's Jason Queally. Starting in the front straight, Bayley held a slight advantage early in the race, before Queally got into top gear and appeared to be gaining the ascendency. In the end, Bayley crossed the line first, with a time of 32 seconds.


Senior Men - Sprint

4 Lap Sprint Derby - Heat 1
1 Jobie Dajka
2 Craig McLean (Great Britain)
3 Darren Harry
4 Gavin White
4 Lap Sprint Derby - Heat 2
1 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
2 Ryan Bayley
3 Greg McFarlane (Italy)
4 Carlo Barendilla
4 Lap Sprint Derby - Heat 3
1 Mark French
2 Shane Kelly
3 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
4 Les Podlog
4 Lap Sprint Derby - B Final
1 Darren Harry
2 Greg McFarlane (Italy)
3 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
4 Carlo Barendilla
5 Gavin White
6 Les Podlog
4 Lap Sprint Derby - A Final
1 Ryan Bayley
2 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
3 Craig McLean (Great Britain)
4 Shane Kelly
5 Mark French
6 Jobie Dajka
500m Time Trial
1 Ryan Bayley
2 Jason Queally (Great Britain)
Team Sprint 1
1 Western Australia (R Bayley, D Harry, C Barendilla)
2 All Stars
Team Sprint 2
1 Australia (S Kelly, J Dajka, M French)
2 Great Britain
Keirin Heat 1
1 Jobie Dajka
2 Mark French
3 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
4 Carlo Barendilla
5 Daniel Vogels
6 Gavin White
Keirin Heat 2
1 Ryan Bayley
2 Shane Kelly
3 Craig McLean (Great Britain)
4 Greg McFarlane (Italy)
5 Darren Harry
6 Gavin White
Keirin B Final
1 Carlo Barendilla
2 Darren Harry
3 Greg McFarlane (Italy)
4 Daniel Vogels
5 Gavin White
6 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)
Keirin A Final
1 Shane Kelly
2 Ryan Bayley
3 Craig McLean (Great Britain)
4 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)
5 Jobie Dajka
6 Mark French

Senior Men - Endurance

20 Lap Scratch Race
1 Brett Aitken
2 Graeme Brown
3 Ashley Hutchinson
4 Tyson Lawrence
5 Steven Evans
6 Daniel Vogels
1 Darren Young
2 Graeme Brown
3 Dean Downing (Great Britain)
4 Brett Aitken
5 Tyson Lawrence
6 Keith Evans
40 Lap Derny Race
1 Brett Aitken
2 Keiran Page (Great Britain)
3 Dean Downing (Great Britain)
4 Graeme Brown
5 Brett Lancaster
6 Peter Dawson
36 Lap Points Score
1 Steven Evans
2 Keirin Page (Great Britain)
3 Brett Aitken
4 Kristian House (Great Britain)
5 Dean Downing (Great Britain)
6 Keith Evans
70 Lap Madison
1 Graeme Brown / Brett Lancaster
2 Brett Aitken / Ashley Hutchison
3 Keith Evans / Steven Evans
4 Steve Cummings / Kristian House (Great Britain)
5 Keiran Page / Dean Downing (Great Britain)
6 Brett Russell / Tyson Lawrence
7 Peter Dawson / Darren Young

Senior Women

15 Lap Motor Pace
1 Anna Meares
2 Rosealee Hubbard
3 Kerry Meares
4 Kristine Bayley
5 Amy Kirk
6 Leeanne Manderson 
4 Lap Handicap
1 Kerry Meares
2 Anna Meares
3 Kristine Bayley
4 Tanya Bailey
5 Kelly McCombie
6 Claire McLean
1 Kerry Meares
2 Anna Meares
3 Rosealee Hubbard
4 Kristine Bayley
5 Tanya Bailey
6 Leeanne Manderson
7 Elizabeth Georgouras
20 Lap Points Score
1 Anna Meares
2 Kerry Meares
3 Leeanne Manderson
4 Katrina Purcell
5 Kelly McCombie
6 Rosealle Hubbard

Junior Category 2

3 Lap Handicap 
1 Matt Casteldini
2 Matt Boag
3 Mitch Benson
4 Jacques Simpson
5 Ben Horsley
6 Morgan Tremayne

Junior Women

3 Lap Handicap
1 Josephine Butler
2 Phillipa Martin
3 Jess McCallum
4 Emily Wood
5 Heidi Kirk
6 Josie Tomic
5 Lap Scratch Race
1 Rebecca MacPherson
2 Emily Wood
3 Jess McCallum
4 Josie Tomic
5 Heidi Kirk
6 Sarah Kent

Junior Men

12 Lap Scratch Race
1 Duane Johansen
2 Travis Meyer
3 Scott Sunderland
4 Adam O'Connor
5 Cameron Meyer
6 Jayden Veljacich
4 Lap Handicap
1 Jayden Veljacich
2 Byron Page
3 Rex Franzinelli
4 Scott Sunderland
5 Oliver Saare
16 Lap Points Score
1 Adam O'Connor
2 Cameron Meyer
3 Duane Johansen
4 Jayden Veljacich

WAIS Talent Search

4 Lap Group Handicap
1 Josephine Butler
2 Phillipa Martin
3 Mitchell Brooks
4 Nicholas Adamson