Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Newbridge Credit Union Grand Prix

Newbridge, Co. Kildare, March 16, 2003

O'Loughlin wins Newbridge Credit Union Grand Prix

By Tommy Campbell

David O'Loughlin from Cong in Co. Mayo has certainly started the cycling season in a blaze of glory with back-to-back wins on consecutive Sundays. Yesterday in Newbridge, Co. Kildare he soloed home to victory in the Newbridge Grand Prix held over 63 miles on an undulating course which included the odd climb which took the sting out the competitors as they raced on good road surfaces.

After his win last Sunday week in Banteer, O'Loughlin was a marked man and he played a cool hand as he afforded a group of approximately thirty to steal a march on the field after approximately 30 miles of racing and with an advantage of just a minute.

"I knew that I was capable of bridging the gap as preparation all week had been impeccable. Only Eddie O'Donoghue came with me and in a matter of time we made the junction. I kept a watching brief for the remainder of the race as the group narrowed because of the speed. With three miles or so to go I just upped the gearing and simply rode away. It's a nice feeling getting a double, and it so early in the season, but last winter I prepared meticulously as I have a contract with an American outfit," said David. His winning margin was 30 seconds over Brian Aherne who just shaded Eddie McMahon for the runner-up position.

O'Loughlin is scheduled to contest the Tour of Georgia in the States which starts on Easter Tuesday.

Additional report by Shane Stokes

Currently racing at home due to college commitments, Irish professional David O'Loughlin took his second win in as many weeks when he emerged best at the end of the Newbridge Credit Union GP today. The Ofoto Lombardi Sports rider is anticipating a slow start to the season due to recent illness and the demands of third level education, but once again was too strong for the other riders towards the end of today's sunshine- basked 63 mile event.

The attacks began from the drop of the flag in Milltown, just outside Newbridge, when a ten man break went clear on the Hill of Allen. Reeled in at the end of lap one, a five man group forged ahead six miles later, with O'Loughlin, Micheal Concannon (Killorglin CC), Shane Baker (Usher IRC), Paddy Moriarty (Dublin Skip) and Kieran McMahon (Earl of Desmond) joining forces to draw gradually clear.

However 2 laps from the end six other riders succeeded in bridging the gap, setting the stage for a decisive move by O'Loughlin and then Brian Ahern (Naas Fig Rolls CC) inside the final five miles. Ahern succeeded in holding the Mayo rider once, but had no answer to a second attack which carried him home 20 seconds clear.

Third place went to McMahon, who outgalloped Mark Quigley (Mayo Wheelers) some 32 seconds after O'Loughlin took the chequered flag. Meanwhile Matt Slattery (Killarney CC) bested Michael Dennehy (Kanturk Credit Union) and Sean McIllroy (Cidona Carrick Wheelers) in the 50 mile senior 2 race. Killorglin CC rider Barry Woods beat Mark Nestor (Shannonside CC) and Richard Moes (Killarney CC) to the line in the combined senior 3/junior/veteran/women4s event.

Colm Crawley (Stamullen M. Donnelly RC), Chris Lawlor (unattached), Terry Ferris (Dublin Wheelers CC) and Debbie Booth (Audi East Antrim) took the prizes for best unplaced junior, senior 3, veteran and woman.

Results, 62.5 miles

1 David O'Loughlin (Ofoto Lombardia Sport)       2.36.10
2 B. Ahern (Naas Fig Roll)                          0.20
3 K. McMahon (Earl of Desmond CC)                   0.32
4 M. Quigley  (Mayo Wheelers)  
5 E. O4Donoghue (Usher IRC)                         0.41
6 R. Whelan (Navon Avonmore RC)  
Senior 2, 50 miles
1 Matt Slattery (Killarney CC)                   2.15.00
2 M. Dennehy (Kanturk Credit Union)
3 S. McIlroy (Cidona Carrick Wheelers)
4 T. Brady (Navan Avonmore RC)
5 D. Dukes (Usher IRC)
6 D. McCaughey
Senior 3/junior/veteran/ladies
1 Barry Woods (Killorglin CC)                    1.41.25
2 M. Nestor (Shannonside CC)
3 R. Moes (Killarney CC)
4 J. Lawless (Usher IRC)
5 H. Davis (Usher IRC)
6 M. Nulty (Stamullen M. Donnelly RC)
Junior: Colm Crawley (Stamullen M. Donnelly RC)
Senior 3: Chris Lawlor (unattached)
Veteran: Terry Ferris (Dublin Wheelers CC)
Woman: Debbie Booth (Audi East Antrim)

Previous results from Ireland