Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Bray GP

February 25, 2006

Murphy solos to win

By Tommy Campbell

Conor Murphy from Monaghan set the tone yesterday for the cycling season ahead with a dynamic show of strength when he soloed home to victory in the Bray Grand Prix.

The former under-23 international and now a member of the Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group team may have started off the pace in the Grand Prix which was handicapped, but he made amends towards the end when he set off on his own for outright victory on the outskirts of Newscastle, Co. Wicklow.

There was a record entry of 157 competitors for the season’s opener in Bray which was organised by the Bray Wheelers CC. The race was divided into three groups who went off at intervals of four and six minutes, with Murphy along with 19 in the scratch group. This particular group mad heavy weather of making the junction to the leaders who were caught shortly after Rather, but patience played a role in reeling them in.

Conor, who had cycled over the course a number of times in the last number of weeks, knew where and when his opposition would be most vulnerable, particularly with a head wind making the going tough. His training miles paid off when he struck for home and this victory has set the bar for other clubs who want a slice of the action. On yesterday’s evidence, the Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group who has their official launch on Tuesday will make life difficult in the fast for other clubs to attain the high standards delivered on the Wicklow Road yesterday.


1 Conor Murphy (Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group)               1.36.02
2 C.Bracken (Murphy Surveyors/Kilcullen CC)                  0.35
3 D. Hanrahan (Worldwide Cycles, Clonmel)
4 M. Ward (Usher Irish Road Club)
5 B. Nolan (Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group)
6 A. McQuaid (Sean Kelly Racing Team)
Category Prizes

B Cat: L. Murphy (Polar-Sykkelubb/Norway)
1st Lady: A. Daly (Dundrum Shopping Centre/Orwell Wheekers)
1st Junior: S. Halpin (McNally/Swords CC)
1st Veteran (S. Murphy (Murphy & Gunn/Newlyn Group)                 

Local results 2006