Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 4-5, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP





Waller Cup

Bohermeen, May 5, 2002

Farrell takes Waller Cup

By Shane Stokes

Navan Avonmore rider Colm Farrell today proved fastest at the end of the Waller Cup in Bohermeen outsprinting Finglas Ravens duo Graham Thomas and Anto Moran plus ten other breakaway companions to win the 60 mile combined Senior 1&2 race. Farrell was part of a group which went clear on the first of 6 laps and which swelled to about 20 at the 12 mile mark.

Riders of the calibre of Martin O‚Loughlin (Cidona Carrick Wheelers) missed the move but despite a big effort to close the gap he and the rest of the field were forced to play a supporting role today. With the break working well together the bunch quickly lost time slipping to three minutes down by the halfway point and then fading further afterwards.

Tim Ahern (UCD) forged ahead with two laps to go but was hauled back. Other attacks followed but failed to stay clear paving the way for a sprint of 13 riders at the end of the race. Farrell beat Thomas and Moran to take the victory with Tim Cassidy (Cycleways Lee Strand) and Dylan Rafter (St. Tiernans) next home.

In the other races Dublin Wheelers rider Pat Byrne won the combined Senior 3/Junior/Veteran event while Marie Reilly (Bohermeen) took the women‚s trophy. Conor Campbell (Drogheda Wheelers) Michael Daly (Swords CC) and Mark Nestor (Shannonside) won the under 12 under 14 and under 16 events.


Senior 1/2
1 Colm Farrell (Navan Avonmore)
2 G. Thomas (Finglas Ravens)
3 A. Moran (Finglas Ravens)
4 T. Cassidy (Cycleways Lee Strand)
5 D. Rafter (St.Tiernans)
6 T. Ahern (UCD)
7 D. Ryan (Staggs Lucan)
8 S. Corrigan (Dublin Wheelers)
9 D. Tansey (Orwell Wheelers)
10 S. Gibson (Orwell Wheelers) all same time
First senior 2: A Moran (Finglas Ravens)
Senior 3/Junior/Veterans
1 Pat Byrne (Dublin Wheelers)
2 J. Kelly (McNally Swords)
3 P. Brady (Emyvale)
4 S. Turner (BVRC)
5 K. Daly (McNally Swords)
6 T. Ferris (Dublin Wheelers)
7 S. Kennedy (Navan Avonmore)
8 R.Cullen (Autoview)
9 C. Crowley (Balbriggan)
10 K. Gallagher (DPC First Legal)
1 Marie Reilly (Bohermeen)
2 L. Moriarty (Dublin Skip)
3 O. Coady (Usher IRC)
4 S. Lavery (DPC First Legal)
Under 12
1 Conor Campbell (Drogheda Wheelers)
2 D. Murphy (Newry Wheelers)
3 A. Benner (Drogheda Wheelers)
Under 14
1 Michael Daly (Swords CC)
2 C. Murphy (Newry)
3 M. McAree (Emyvale CC)
4 J. Kane (Emyvale)
5 E. Lynskey (Navan)
6 D. Browne (Navan)
Under 16
1 Mark Nestor (Shannonside)
2 P. McMahon (Bray Wheelers)
3 A. Coyle (Shannonside)
4 D. Dunlop (Lakeland)
5 U. Monks (Bray)
6 M. McGirr (Lakeland)
7 P. Nolan (Shannonside)
8 J. Whelan (Swords)
9 R. Price (Bray)
10 M. Scott-Lennon (Bray)

Previous results from Ireland