Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 18-24, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club

May 18, 2002

The Autumn Classic

by Peter Winton
Mildura's "Hell of the North" you could say as Sunraysia's weather finally fell apart on Saturday afternoon with the worst conditions endured by riders for many years. Unusually, the rain did not deter the locals and the 81km "Autumn Classic" was contested by 21 cycling "fools".

Handicapper Pollock sent Brendan Liddle, Daivd Priest, Claude Bilucaglia, Michael Koopman and Bill Wass out from the 20 minute limit. Second bunch off 16 minutes contained Harry Robbins, Mark Phillips, Kevin Gregroy, Ralph Morrish, Barry Gentle and Ken Joy. Off nine minutes were Basil Taggert, Peter Mills, Barry Pollock and Peter Winton. At six minutes and "chopping block" the bunch was Arthur Anderson, Jack Lokan, Michael Shipsides and Nathan Welsh whilst the mark of honor was worn by Chris Baudry, Rob McNally, Adam Wightwick and Kevin Tankard.

In the pouring rain they all went and the west to south westerly breeze that accompanied the wet. Those limit riders enjoyed their 20 minutes and 16 minutes breaks so much so that they were never sighted by the remaining chasing riders. The 16 minute group started rounding up slower riders within 5km of the start, even after losing three or four cyclists at the end of lap one (of three) they held together with Kevin Gregory cracking the whip. Strong turns from Barry Gentle and Mark Phillips until the end ensured the following riders would have their work cut out.

With scratch rounding up the six minute group with 25km to go and then very soon after the nine minute group it was a desperate effort mounted by Chris Baudry, Rob McNally and Kevin Tankard to try and close the gap. Taggert and Mills had ridden well in their bunch and the first to fall away from the big chasing pack were Pollock and Winton. Mills soon after although his was an enforced pit stop by the side of the road to release some liquid baggage.

In the wash up (pardon the water induced pun) Anderson proved too strong for the A grade riders in the chasing pack. Wighwick recorded the fastest time of 2.03.35. In the leading bunch it was Mark Phillips too strong at the end to account for a fit Kevin Gregory with Harry Robbins having spent everything in the closing stages (the sand hill rises) recording a very creditable third place. With the Berri Open being held next weekend this race was a timely one particularly in the tough conditions.

Results - 81km handicap

1 M Phillips
2 K Gregory
3 P Robbins
4 R Morrish
5 B Liddle
6 Ken Joy
7 Barry Gentle
8 Arthur Anderson



Australian results from the past week

Gold Coast Cats Cycling Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
West Tamar Cycling Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club
Bundaberg CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC - Jack McGowan Handicap
Murwillumbah Cycle Club


Complete Australian results for 2002