Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports for May 18-24, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Peel CC
Southern Veterans
Mt Baw Baw Classic
Illawarra Cycle Club
Adelaide CC
Southern Vets CC

Central Coast CC
Latrobe CC
Balmoral CC

Bundaberg Amateur CC
Central Coast CC

Launceston MBC

ACT BMX Champs

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

New member wins his first race in D grade

Heffron Park, May 18, 2002

By John Buckton

A cool autumn afternoon greeted over 60 local cyclists at the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club criterium race at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday 18 May 2002.

The elite A Grade riders set off on a 36km race, which featured Randwick Botany junior Robert Cater making a number of strong breakaways. Kirril Sheilds from Team Caravello worked hard at the front of the bunch to keep the pace high. In an exciting sprint, Simon Kenny from the Sydney club finished first followed by Cater and Sheilds.

Eleven riders lined up for the B Grade 32km event. The group stayed together for most of the race with some riders attempting breakaways without success. Final placings were Sean Bloch, Brendon Dunn from the Sutherland club, and David Jackson.

Over twenty C Graders started the 28km race, which featured a successful breakaway by Randwick Botany rider Mark Davies during the last lap. Davies established a 50m lead with 1k to go and maintained the gap to the finish line. The bunch sprint for minor placing saw Will Grey finish second and Andrew Hudson from the Sydney club third.

John Edmondson joined the Randwick Botany Cycling Club less that a month ago, and took first place, for the first time in his cycling career, in the D Grade 20km race. Scott Rice was placed second with Melanie Hassan in third place.

Melanie Hassan is in fine form and looking forward to being part of the 10-strong Randwick Botany women's team entered in the Tour de Femme, to be held on 1st and 2nd June 2002 at Lansdowne, Dunc Gray Criterium circuit and Oatley Park road circuit. Other Randwick Botany riders include Britney Orr, Robyn Stanning, Belinda Angwin, Amy Eager, Leslie Fine, Joanne Hall, Janelle Lindsay, Marika Kahle and Leanne Koh.

Kevin Blanchfield was first in the E Grade 14km event.

Two junior events were conducted by the Junior Development Officer - Peter Zala. Junior A Grade was run over 6km with Michael Murdoch first, Thomas Murdoch second and Andrew Young third. The intermediate Prime sprint was won by Mark Woodhouse. The junior B Grade race also over 6km was won by Adriano Maradini followed by Taylor Aitchison and James Warne. The Prime was won by Taylor Aitchison.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts racing at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW each Saturday throughout the year. Juniors start at 1.00pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website


A Grade, 36km
1 Simon Kenny (Sydney)
2 Robert Cater
3 Kirril Sheilds (Caravello)
B Grade, 32km
1 Sean Bloch
2 Brendon Dunn (Sutherland)
3 David Jackson
C Grade, 28km
1 Mark Davies
2 Will Grey 
3 Andrew Hudson (Sydney)
D Grade, 20km
1 John Edmondson
2 Scott Rice
3 Melanie Hassan
E Grade, 14km
1 Kevin Blanchfield
A Grade, 6km
1 Michael Murdoch
2 Thomas Murdoch
3 Andrew Young
Prime: Mark Woodhouse
B Grade, 6km
1 Adriano Maradini
2 Taylor Aitchison
3 James Warne
Prime: Taylor Aitchison



Australian results from the past week

Gold Coast Cats Cycling Club
Randwick Botany Cycling Club
West Tamar Cycling Club
Mildura-Coomealla Cycling Club
Caesar's Illawarra Cycle Club
Bundaberg CC
Carnegie Caulfield CC - Jack McGowan Handicap
Murwillumbah Cycle Club


Complete Australian results for 2002