Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

6th GP Beghelli (Milano-Vignola) - 1.2

Italy, September 29, 2002

2001 Results    Results    Past winners

Bortolami in top form for Zolder

Photo©: AFP
Click for larger image

In the last month of racing, few have been better than him: second in the Coppi Placci, first in the Giro di Romagna and first in the GP Fourmies.

Today Gianluca Bortolami (Tacconi Sport-Emmegi) most surely cemented his place in the squadra azurra for the upcoming World Championships by winning the sixth edition of the GP Beghelli (previously Milano-Vignola).

The final group of nine riders formed on the fifth of seven laps on the finishing circuit in Zappolino. The 34 year old Italian launched himself from the group with 350 metres to go, outsprinting fellow countryman Daniele Nardello (Mapei-Quick Step) and Dane Nicki Sørensen (CSC-Tiscali).

Along with Nardello, Italians Matteo Tosatto (Fassa Bortolo) and Luca Scinto (Mapei-Quick Step), who finished fifth and ninth respectively, are also likely to feature in the squadra azurra in next month's World Championships, to be held on the Zolder motor racing circuit in Belgium. The Italian squad will most likely be formed around a rejuvenated Mario Cipollini, who recently announced his return to racing after a short spell on the beach.

"After the Tour de France I have not slowed down and I now have my best form," said Bortolami. "At the World Championships, I want to make myself useful and go with the breaks. My other objective is to find a contract for 2003, with a team that allows me to participate in the Spring Classics."


Images by Bettini/

Images by

Results - 200 km

1 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Emmegi    4.46.18 (41.956 km/h)
2 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step  
3 Nicki Sørensen (Den) CSC-Tiscali  
4 Davide Casarotto (Ita) Alessio  
5 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Fassa Bortolo  
6 Alessandro Cortinovis (Ita) Lampre-Daikin  
7 Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno  
8 Gianni Faresin (Ita) Gerolsteiner  
9 Luca Scinto (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step                 0.05 
10 Luca Paolini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step               0.24 
11 Markus Zberg (Swi) Rabobank
12 Serge Baguet (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
13 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Domo-Farm Frites
14 Jan Bratkowski (Ger) Cage Maglierie
15 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Emmegi
16 Matteo Carrara (Ita) Team Colpack-Astro
17 Marco Gili (Ita) Tacconi Sport-Emmegi
18 Massimiliano Mori (Ita) Mercatone Uno
19 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Fassa Bortolo
20 Marco Serpellini (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
54 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Domo-Farm Frites  
59 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank  
61 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner  

Starters: 169
Classified: 93

Past winners

2001 Andrei Tchmil (Bel)
2000 Marco Serpellini (Ita)
1999 Michael Boogerd (Ned)
1998 Stefano Zanini (Ita)
1997 Stefano Zanini (Ita)
1996 Fabio Roscioli (Ita)
1995 Angelo Canzonieri (Ita)
1994 Angelo Lecchi (Ita)
1993 Alberto Elli (Ita)
1992 Andrej Teterijuk (Est)
1991 Silvio Martinello (Ita)
1990 Mario Cipollini (Ita)
1989 Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1988 Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1987 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)
1986 Roberto Visentini (Ita)
1985 Emanuele Bombini (Ita)
1984 Mario Beccia (Ita)
1983 Francesco Moser (Ita)
1982 Giovanni Mantovani (Ita)
1981 Gregor Braun (Ger)
1980 Giovanni Battaglin (Ita)
1979 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1978 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1977 Luciano Borgognoni (Ita)
1976 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1975 Rik Van Linden (Bel)
1974 Enricvo Paolini (Ita)
1973 Marino Basso (Ita)
1972 Julien Van Lint (Bel)
1971 Marino Basso (Ita)
1970 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1969 Attilio Rota (Ita)
1968 Marino Basso (Ita)
1967 Rudi Altig (Ger)
1966 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1965 Guido De Rosso (Ita)
1964 Guido De Rosso (Ita)
1963 Adriano Durante (Ita)
1962 Vendramino Bariviera (Ita) 
1961 Willy Vannitsen (Bel)
1960 Alessandro Fantani (Ita)
1959 Adriano Zamboni (Ita)
1958 Adriano Zamboni (Ita)
1956 Pierino Baffi (Ita)
1952 Antonio Bevilacqua (Ita)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,